Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MN
graduation cap on stack of books smolaw11/Getty Images
SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS: Two students from Cedar Mountain High School received scholarships from MASWCD Area VI.

South-central Minnesota SWCD awards student scholarships

The two students receiving scholarships placed first and second in the district’s essay contest.

The Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts Area VI Scholarship Committee announced the winners of its annual scholarship contest.

Rosalyn Madsen, Franklin, took first place, and Kaitlyn Lorang, Morton, took second place. Both winners attend Cedar Mountain High School.

The criteria involved writing an essay on "the importance of trees in our environment;" academic accomplishment in high school; school and community involvement; and exemplary character.

The first-place scholarship award is $1,000 and the second-place scholarship is $500. Scholarship funds are distributed after successful completion of the first college semester with a 2.5 grade-point average or higher.

M.R. Koenig, MASWCD Area VI scholarship chairman, commended the winning students on their essays and academic and personal accomplishments.

“With all of the fine applications this year, the committee had a most difficult decision in reaching a final decision on the award recipients,” Koenig says. “We are proud to help our young citizens achieve their educational and career objectives."

MASWCD Area VI covers south-central Minnesota.

Source: MASWCD Area VI, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all of its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
TAGS: Education
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.