Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
NEWBA Board Chairman Roric Paulman Tyler Harris
GROUNDWATER ACHIEVEMENT: Roric Paulman, NEWBA board chairman, was honored with the 2019 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award.

Roric Paulman receives Kremer achievement award

Nebraska Digest: Collegiate Farm Bureau leaders earn scholarships; FFA Advisors of the Year named.

Roric Paulman, Nebraska Water Balance Alliance board chairman, was honored with the 2019 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award from the Groundwater Foundation.

The Kremer award is presented annually by the Groundwater Foundation to an outstanding Nebraskan who has made a substantive contribution to the conservation and protection of Nebraska's groundwater.

Paulman was one of the founders of NEWBA and serves as its president. He also serves on the West Central Water Coalition, the University of Nebraska West Central Research and Extension advisory board, Ag Builders of Nebraska board, UNL Presidents Advisory Council and Daugherty Water for Food international advisory board.

Collegiate Farm Bureau leaders receive Ron Hanson scholarship

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation awarded the Ron Hanson Collegiate Leader Scholarship to two Collegiate Farm Bureau members studying at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln's College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. Emily Reitz and Tanner Nun each received $1,500 scholarships.

Reitz is pursuing a degree in agricultural education with a minor in animal science. She is involved in the Collegiate Farm Bureau and the Nebraska FFA Foundation. She also serves as a leadership mentor through the Nebraska Human Resources Institute, and she is the 2019-20 UNL FFA Alumni Club secretary.

Nun is pursuing a degree in agricultural education with plans to be an agricultural educator. He serves as treasurer for the UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau. He also is an executive officer and philanthropy chair in the Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity.

Farm Bureau Foundation announces 2020 FFA Advisors of the Year

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation selected Gary Maresh from Central City High School and Dan Mowinkel from Logan View High School in Hooper for the FFA Advisor of the Year award. The winning advisors received a plaque and a $1,000 donation to their FFA chapter.

The teachers were nominated by their students and chosen based on school and community involvement, leadership development in their classroom, and ability to keep students involved in agriculture.

Maresh is advisor for the Central City FFA chapter and is entering his 43rd and final year as an educator and FFA advisor. Mowinkel has been the advisor for Logan View FFA chapter for 30 years.

Phillip Simpson receives Helping Hand Award

The Nebraska FFA Foundation has awarded Phillip Simpson, Burwell FFA advisor, with the 2020 Gary Scharf Helping Hand Award.

Simpson was nominated for the award with support by colleagues and community members.

The Gary Scharf Helping Hand Award recognizes a Nebraska agriculture teacher or FFA advisor for what he or she has done in helping others, specifically in the school and community outside of agriculture education and FFA. As recipient of the award, Simpson receives a plaque and a $500 cash award from the Nebraska FFA Foundation.

Nebraska Corn announces 2020 FLAGship Program winners

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association recently announced winners of the 2020 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program. The NeCGA Grower Services committee chose five applicants to each receive a $2,000 scholarship.

The awardees are Mitchell Manning of Fairmont, Payton Schiller of Scribner, Ryan Brown of Gothenburg, Kara Kudera of Clarkson and Josie Vyhnalek of Friend.

To be eligible, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son or daughter of a member. They must be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in Nebraska.

Soybean Board names Scott Ritzman as executive director

The Nebraska Soybean Board recently announced the appointment of Scott Ritzman as executive director. Ritzman will work on achieving NSB's mission and strategic objectives, program development and administration, employee oversight and leadership, communications and relationship building, and fiscal and contract management.

Ritzman graduated from Midland University with a degree in accounting. Before joining NSB, he spent seven years in the international grain export industry working for Mishek Inc. & Associates. He also has been associate executive director at NSB since October.

Ritzman was appointed and assumed the role April 1.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.