Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
group of Nebraska LEAD fellows Nebraska LEAD
INTERNATIONAL STUDY: LEAD 37 fellows visit the European Commission in Belgium during their 2019 international study-travel seminar.

Nebraska LEAD program announces 2019-21 fellows

The group will participate in events across Nebraska, as well as national and international study-travel seminars.

Nebraska LEAD (Leadership Education/Action Development) Group 39 participants have been announced by the program's director, Terry Hejny. The two-year program will begin in September.

The newest members of Nebraska's premier two-year agricultural leadership development program are involved in production agriculture or agribusiness in Nebraska.

"Once again, it appears that Class 39 is filled with outstanding individuals from throughout our state, and I am excited to get started with them," Hejny says. "Our task will be to prepare and motivate them for future leadership roles in their community, our state and beyond."

LEAD fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study-travel seminar and a 14- to 16-day international study-travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem-solvers, decision-makers and spokespeople for Nebraska agriculture and beyond.

Seminar themes include leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, leadership through communication, agricultural policy, international trade and finance, Nebraska's political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social and cultural issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, information technology, advances in health care, the resources and people of Nebraska's Panhandle, and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of topics and issues and how they interrelate.

The Nebraska LEAD program is sponsored by the nonprofit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council, in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 12 other institutions of higher education throughout the state.

The LEAD 39 fellows by city or town are:

  • Albion: John Krohn
  • Arthur: Jason Christiansen
  • Bellevue: John Bronner, Derek Brown
  • Blue Hill: Alex Buschow
  • Clarkson: Mike Podany
  • Clatonia: Monte Murkle
  • Colon: Jeff Meduna
  • Columbus: Justin Lorenz
  • Cozad: Zack Jenner
  • Elgin: Tiffany Hemenway
  • Grand Island: Andy Paul
  • Holdrege: Molly Trausch
  • Hordville: Rebekah Nortrup
  • Kearney: Elyse Schlake
  • Lincoln: Travis Harrison, Laurel Mastro, Blythe McAfee, Brett Muhlbach, Tony Sibert
  • Mullen: Kory Phillips
  • Neligh: Koryn Koinzan
  • Omaha: Craig Davidson, Benjamin Grabenstein, Ashley Peters
  • Stromsburg: Cale Pallas
  • Sutherland: Thomas Kelly, Zachary Paulman
  • Sutton: Jesse Mohnike
  • Utica: Mindy Wolf
Source: IANR, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.