Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
Roger Elmore, long-time Nebraska Extension cropping systems agronomist, retired in late June Greg Nathan, University Communication
CAREER IN CROPS: Roger Elmore, longtime Nebraska Extension cropping systems agronomist, retired in June.

Nebraska Extension cropping systems agronomist retires

Nebraska Digest: Corn Board makes hire; achievement award winner named; two reappointed to Wheat Board.

Nebraska Extension cropping systems agronomist Roger Elmore retired in June after 38 years of teaching, research and Extension work — more than 29 years of which he served at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.

Elmore’s most significant research contributions have centered on evaluating corn growth and yield response to extreme weather events. He has also co-lead a cover crop research project for five years supported by the Nebraska Soybean Board and the Nebraska Corn Board.

Elmore is a Heuermann chairman, Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute faculty fellow, and fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and of the Crop Science Society of America.

He received the Agronomic Education and Extension Award from the American Society of Agronomy in 2017. He was recognized in 2018 for his dedication and outstanding service to the South Central Agricultural Laboratory near Clay Center, Neb.

Wilkerson joins Corn Board as director of market development

The Nebraska Corn Board recently announced the hiring of Jeff Wilkerson as its director of market development.

Wilkerson will work with corn farmers and industry partners to coordinate market development efforts, and foster and build relationships with local, national and international partners to strengthen demand for Nebraska’s corn and value-added products.

Originally from Coleridge, Neb., Wilkerson graduated from UNL with a bachelor’s degree in journalism. Before joining the Nebraska Corn Board, he spent nine years in the broadcast industry, including seven as the host of UNL’s "Market Journal" TV program.

Most recently, Wilkerson managed communications with UNL’s Office of Research and Economic Development.

Wilkerson replaces Roger Berry, who had served in the position since October 2015. Berry was named the administrator of the Nebraska Ethanol Board in May.

LaRue to receive IA Industry Achievement Award

The Irrigation Association recently announced that Jake LaRue of Omaha, Neb., has been named the recipient of the 2019 Industry Achievement Award. This award is the IA’s highest honor and recognizes an individual whose career demonstrates outstanding contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry, as well as its products and programs.

As head of the research and development department of Valley Irrigation, LaRue’s career has been devoted to the technological advancements of the irrigation industry. LaRue holds numerous patents and was integral in the development of several irrigation technologies, including variable-rate irrigation, scheduling, telemetry and sensors.

The Industry Achievement Award will be presented to LaRue during the general session of the Irrigation Show and Education Week on Dec. 5 in Las Vegas.

Delsing, Knobel reappointed to Wheat Board

Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts reappointed Bob Delsing of Hemingford, Neb., and Mark Knobel of Fairbury, Neb., as directors for Districts 1 and 6, respectively, on the Nebraska Wheat Board. This will be the second term for both Delsing and Knobel.

Delsing is a fourth-generation farmer. He and his son Scott raise dryland wheat, corn and cattle on their farm and ranch operation in Dawes and Box Butte counties.

Knobel is a fifth-generation farmer. He and his family operate Knobel Farms Inc., a diversified wheat, corn and soybean farm. They also operated Knobel Seeds, a certified seed business dealing in wheat and soybean seed.

Members of the board of directors are appointed by the governor to serve a five-year term.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.