Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

DeKalb County farmer leads Indiana Corn Growers Association

2018 Indiana Corn Grower’s Associaiton officer team
2018 LEADERSHIP: The 2018 Indiana Corn Growers Association officer team includes (from left) Secretary Ronnie Mohr, Greenfield; Vice President Mike Beard, Frankfort; President Sarah Delbecq, Auburn; and Treasurer Christian Rosen, Urbana.
Other Hoosiers in the news include ICGA’s new officers for 2018, and corn and soybean yield contest winners.

Sarah Delbecq from DeKalb County, Ind., will lead the Indiana Corn Growers Association throughout 2018. The Auburn farmer says one of ICGA’s main roles is to engage key decision-makers to ensure legislation and policy is shaped with Indiana corn farmers in mind.

ICGA is the lobbying organization for corn growers in the state. The Indiana Corn Marketing Council oversees the corn checkoff, but can’t lobby on behalf of corn growers.

Also elected to the ICGA executive committee were Mike Beard, Frankfort, vice president; Christian Rosen, Urbana, treasurer; and Ronnie Mohr, Greenfield, secretary.

To learn about ICGA membership, call 800-735-0195.

Young farmers tapped
Dan and Kelly Snipes, Rochester, will serve on the American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee through 2020.The Fulton County couple was recently appointed to this position. Prior to this appointment, they represented Farm Bureau young farm families in Fulton, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph and Starke counties on the Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmers Committee.

YOUNG LEADERS: Kelly and Dan Snipes, Rochester, Ind., will serve on the AFBF Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee.

The fourth-generation farmers raise corn and soybeans. Dan also works as a salesman for New Holland Rochester. Kelly operates her own graphic design business, serving primarily farm and ag clients.

One of their roles in their new position will be serving as contacts for several state Farm Bureau young farmer groups.

Yield winners named
Kevin Kalb, Dubois, took two first-place awards in the National Corn Growers Association corn yield contest for 2017. He placed first in the AA Non-Irrigated category, producing 386.1 bushels per acre. He also took first in the AA Strip-Till/ No-Till Irrigated division, with a yield of 354.1 bushels per acre. Kalb planted two different Dekalb hybrids to produce the winning yields. He has placed in the NCGA contest several times in the past.

Meanwhile, Amos Martin, Worthington, won the Project 300 Corn Yield Contest sponsored by Seed Consultants Inc. with a yield of 287.8 bushels per acre. Terry Vissing, Marysville, placed second with 273.9 bushels per acre.

In the Project 100 Soybean Yield Contest, also sponsored by Seed Consultants Inc., Martin placed second, harvesting 67.09 bushels per acre. The top yield was 75.3 bushels per acre, posted by David Fisher, London, Ohio.

Soil health manager
The Soil Health Partnership recently added two new field managers, one in Illinois and one in Indiana. The Indiana field manager is Alex Flock, Bluffton. He will cover northern Indiana, working with Hans Kok, already a field manager there. Kok has served in several capacities in groups promoting soil health in Indiana over the past several years.  

Flock hails from a farm family near Bluffton. He and Kok will work with 30 farmers involved in the Soil Health Partnership. The program is an initiative of the NCGA and is currently working with more than 100 farmers spread across 10 states. The goal is to promote sustainability on participating farms. Learn more at

Abigail Peterson will work in southern Illinois, joining existing fieldman Jim Isermann to serve 30 farmers in the program in Illinois.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.