Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: OH
Steve Rasmussen received the Ezra C. Anstaett Heritage Award, with OFBF President Frank Burkett in the background All photos courtesy of OFBF
HERITAGE: Steve Rasmussen (at microphone) received the Ezra C. Anstaett Heritage Award. Also pictured is OFBF President Frank Burkett.

3 honored for lifetime contributions to agriculture

Ohio Farm Bureau presented the awards during its 101st annual meeting.

Three individuals were recognized for their lifetime achievements to agriculture during the 101st annual meeting of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. Longtime Nationwide leader Steve Rasmussen received the Ezra C. Anstaett Heritage Award, while farmer Tom Price of Delaware County was honored with the Distinguished Service Award. Joe Cornely, OFBF senior director of corporate communications, received the Agricultural Communicator Award, the second time he has been honored with this award. Farm Bureau volunteers, county organizations and state leaders nominated candidates for the awards.

Ag heritage

Rasmussen has been a longtime supporter of OFB and the agricultural community. He recently retired as CEO of Nationwide after being elected to the position in 2009. He also served on Nationwide’s board of trustees. Previously, he was president and chief operating officer of Nationwide’s property and casualty insurance operations; Allied Insurance; and CalFarm Insurance, an affiliated company with Nationwide. Currently, he serves on the boards of Nationwide Children's Hospital, American Electric Power and Catalyst. He also is a member of the Columbus Partnership, an organization focused on economic development and downtown Columbus revitalization. Previously, he was a board member of OhioHealth, the National Urban League, the Insurance Information Institute, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and the Columbus Metropolitan Library. He and his wife, Cindy, served as co-chairs of the 2012 United Way of Central Ohio campaign.

Tom Price with OFBF Executive Vice President Adam Sharp and OFBF President Frank Burkett
SERVICE: Tom Price (center) was presented with the Distinguished Service Award. He is pictured with Adam Sharp, OFBF executive vice president (left), and OFBF President Frank Burkett.


Service to ag

Price, a Delaware County Farm Bureau member, is a sixth-generation farmer who has a hog, cattle and compost business. He volunteers in many capacities statewide, including as a member of the Ohio Expositions Commission and the Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission. He also has served on the Delaware Area Chamber of Commerce, Delaware Community Foundation, Ohio Pork Industry Strategic Planning Committee, Ohio Beef Council, Ohio State University Extension Advisory Committee and Delaware County Farmland Preservation Task Force. Price is a member of the Ohio  Agricultural Hall of Fame and the Delaware County  Agricultural Hall of Fame. He and his family have received numerous accolades, including the Ohio Conservation Farm Family Award, Ohio Cattlemen’s Environmental Stewardship Award and Ohio Pork Producers’ Service Award.

Joe Cornely with OFBF President Frank Burkett and OFBF Executive Vice President Adam Sharp
COMMUNICATOR: Joe Cornely (center) received the Agricultural Communicator Award. He is pictured with OFBF President Frank Burkett (left) and Adam Sharp, OFBF executive vice president.


Ag communication

Cornely first received the Agricultural Communicator Award for his work as a longtime farm broadcaster at WRFD, he produced the “As We See It” weekly radio program. In 1996, he was voted National Farm Broadcaster of the Year. He was very active in the National Association of Farm Broadcasting and was the organization’s president in 1995. In 1998, Cornely joined Ohio Farm Bureau as director of media relations, and he is retiring at the end of the year as senior director of corporate communications. He has received national communications and service awards, from organizations including theSoil and Water Conservation Society, American Soybean Association, National Association of Conservation Districts and National Corn Growers Association. Cornely also has received numerous awards from Ohio farm organizations, including the Ohio Corn Growers; Ohio Soybean Association; Ohio Cattlemen's Association; Ohio Pork Council; Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Ohio Agri-Women; and Ohio Veterinary Medical Association.

Source: OFBF, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.