Nebraska Farmer Logo

Nebraska Digest: Steve Wellman named MASDA president; Farm Bureau Foundation awards teachers.

October 21, 2020

2 Min Read
Lynn Chrisp standing infront of corn plants.
25 YEARS OF SERVICE: Lynn Chrisp has been involved in leadership roles with NCGA for 25 years. Tyler Harris

It was recently announced that Lynn Chrisp would be concluding his service with the National Corn Growers Association's Corn Board. As NCGA began its new fiscal year Oct. 1, Chrisp transitioned out of his role as chairman of the board.

He served on NCGA's Corn Board for nine years, and served as first vice president and president before becoming chairman. Chrisp has been involved in leadership roles with NCGA for 25 years.

Chrisp has spent more than 30 years serving corn farmers at the state and national levels. At the national level, he has served on numerous NCGA action teams and has worked on issues affecting corn growers. His most recent work focused on ethanol's role as a low-carbon, high-octane fuel.

Chrisp became a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association in 1988. He previously served as chairman of NeCGA's government relations committee, and he also was involved in the planning and implementation of NeCGA's leadership program in Washington, D.C.

Chrisp farms near Hastings with his wife, Michelle. He will continue to serve farmers at the local level with NeCGA, and he also will work with NCGA through its foundation.

NDA director named MASDA president

Nebraska Department of Agriculture Director Steve Wellman has been selected to serve as the 2021-22 president of the Midwest Association of State Departments of Agriculture. Wellman accepted the position during the association's annual meeting, which was held virtually in September.

Wellman will work with other state agricultural leaders in the Midwest to promote, support and advance ag producers, agribusinesses and the industry as a whole. MASDA is comprised of the departments of agriculture from 13 Midwestern states. MASDA is the Midwest regional association of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture.

Wellman will host the annual MASDA meeting in Nebraska in June.

Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation supports teachers

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation awarded 18 teachers with funds in support of agricultural education and FFA programs in Nebraska.

Recipients are all agricultural education teachers in their first through fifth year of teaching. Teachers are eligible for increasing awards each year. As the teachers' impact grows in the classroom, in their FFA chapters and in their communities each year, the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation aims to recognize and support their efforts.

The 18 recipients of the scholarships are Katie Arp, Bishop Neumann High School; Kensie Burnside, Neligh-Oakdale High School; Jacob Goldfuss, Sandy Creek Public Schools; Kate Grimes, Axtell Community Schools; Amanda Hafer, Lutheran High Northeast; Cale Harrington, Loup City Public Schools; Blair Hartman, Ansley Public Schools; Hannah Horak, Shelton High School; Katie Horning, Northwest Public Schools; Carrie Johns, Gering High School; Brian Johnson, Litchfield Public Schools; Katie Nolles, Boyd County High School; Kara Philips, Madison Public Schools; Savannah Schafer, McCook Public Schools; Nicole Sorenson, Minatare High School; Brooke Wehrbein, Auburn High School; Emily Whipple, Ainsworth Community Schools; and Macie Wippel, Minden Public Schools.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like