Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

MSU recognizes employees for service

Employees of the Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University were recently recognized for their service to the university and the state.

The recipient of the 2007 Rosalind and Rodney Foil Teamwork Award was Rick Snyder, Extension and research professor at the Truck Crops Experiment Station in Crystal Springs, Miss. Snyder was honored for his work with the annual Fall Flower and Garden Fest at the station.

The Foil awards are presented each year in honor of the former MSU vice president and his wife.

Also presented on behalf of a former vice president and his wife were the Louis and Doris Wise Support Staff awards. The 2007 recipients are Donna Bland, office associate in the Department of Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion; Beth Hathcock, business manager in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences; Bridget Carr, support specialist at the Forest and Wildlife Research Center; and D. Ray Manning, engineering technician at the Delta Research and Extension Center.

White Special Project awards are presented each year in honor of the late William M. White, an Oktibbeha County dairy farmer, agricultural leader and MSU supporter. The awards provide financial support for research projects that further the development of agriculture and agribusiness in Mississippi.

A White award was presented to MSU animal scientists Preston Buff, Carolyn Buff, Mark Crenshaw, Dean Jousan, Ann Leed and Jane Parish for development of digital video educational modules.

A White award also went to a team working to determine if naturally occurring phytoestrogens in soybeans have any effect on reproductive tract development in young pigs. Team members include animal scientists Peter Ryan, Mark Crenshaw and Brian Rude, and College of Veterinary Medicine clinical instructor Fred Cunningham.

Also receiving a 2007 White award were Extension professor Tim Traugott and Extension and research professor John Kushla for development of a pine-thinning demonstration area to educate private forest landowners about forest and wildlife benefits of pine plantation management.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.