Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Mississippi producer named CCI president for 2003

Carson’s election came during CCI’s board meeting at the National Cotton Council’s annual meeting in Tampa. He succeeds William B. Dunavant III, a cotton merchant from Memphis, who becomes chairman of CCI’s board.

Carson has served as a producer-delegate and in other positions with the National Cotton Council and has been chairman of the Stoneville, Miss.-based Delta Council’s Farm Policy Committee.

Other CCI officers elected for 2003 are: first vice president, David Stanford, cooperative official, Lubbock, Texas; second vice president, Gary W. Taylor, merchant, Cordova, Tenn.; and treasurer, David L. Burns, producer, Laurel Hill, N.C. Mark D. Lange of Memphis was elected secretary and Allen A. Terhaar of Washington, D.C., was re-elected assistant secretary.

CCI elected five new directors for 2003: Owen J. (Trey) Hodges, III, a manufacturer from Columbus, Ga.; Gerald C. Marshall, a merchant from Cordova, Tenn.; Lawrence E. Starrh, a producer from Shafter, Calif.; James L. Webb, a producer from Leary, Ga.; and Lonnie D. Winters, a cooperative official from Lubbock, Texas.

Re-elected directors include: Michael M. Adams, cooperative official, Greenwood, Miss.; Robert W. Norris, cooperative official, Bakersfield, Calif.; Gail Kring, crusher, Lubbock, Texas; Thomas S. (Sid) Brough, ginner, Edroy, Texas; Robert W. Glassman, ginner, Fresno, Calif; Jerry D. Rowland, manufacturer, Winston-Salem, N.C.; J. Walker Clarke, merchant, Columbia, S.C.; Eduardo L. Esteve, merchant, Dallas, Texas; Rodger C. Glaspey, merchant, Fresno, Calif.; Adolph Weil, III, merchant, Montgomery, Ala.; Cliett A. Lowman, III, producer, Kingsville, Texas; Bob E. Mayberry, producer, Lake Arthur, N.M.; Larry R. McClendon, producer, Marianna, Ark.; John E. Pucheu, Jr., producer, Tranquility, Calif.; Ted D. Sheely, producer, Lemoore, Calif.; and Vance C. Shoaf, warehouseman, Milan, Tenn.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.