is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Mississippi producer to chair NCC

Cotton producer Kenneth Hood will serve as chairman of the National Cotton Council during one of its most challenging years following his election to the NCC's top position at its annual meeting in Dallas.

Hood, a member of a family farming operation based in Gunnison, Miss., served as NCC's vice chairman during 2001 and succeeds Memphis merchant James E. Echols, who will serve as chairman of the NCC's Executive Committee this year.

A former president of the Stoneville, Miss.-based Delta Council, Hood has been highly active in the NCC, having served as a NCC vice chairman, treasurer and director and as chairman of its Farm Program and Economic Policy Committee. Leaders of the Delta Council helped organize the NCC during another cotton industry crisis in 64 years ago.

Hood was president of the Mississippi Boll Weevil Management Corp. during its efforts to begin the state's eradication program and now serves as its chairman of the board. He has served as president of the National Cotton Ginners Association, the Southern Cotton Ginners and Mississippi Cotton Ginners associations and chaired the American Farm Bureau Federation's cotton committee.

A partner in Perthshire Farms, Hood has been farming in the Mississippi Delta since 1962. He also is a partner in H.B. Hood & Sons Gin Company and is owner of a farm equipment dealership. He is a graduate of Mississippi State University and holds numerous awards, including the New York Cotton Exchange Cotton Marketer of the Year in 1992, the NCGA's 1997 Ginner of the Year and Delta Council's Outstanding Conservation Farmer in 2000.

Other NCC officers elected for 2002 include: Robert W. Greene, ginner, Courtland, Ala., vice chairman; Allen Helms, producer, Clarkedale, Ark.; secretary-treasurer; and Robert E. McLendon, producer, Leary, Ga., operations committee chairman.

Re-elected vice presidents were: W. Duke Kimbrell, manufacturer, Gastonia, N.C.; and Fred Underwood, warehouseman, Wayne Martin, crusher, and Van A. May, cooperative official, all of Lubbock, Texas.

Re-elected as NCC staff officers were: Gaylon B. Booker, president and chief executive officer; and vice presidents Craig Brown, producer affairs; and Mark Lange, policy analysis and program coordination, all of Memphis, Tenn.; and John Maguire, vice president Washington operations, and Allen Terhaar, vice president international affairs, Washington.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.