Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States

McMichael receives Physiology Award

He received $1,000 at the 2004 Beltwide Cotton Physiology Conference in San Antonio. The Agrivert Corp. sponsored the award, which is presented by the Physiology Conference to an individual or team who has significantly improved the knowledge of the physiology of cotton growth and development.

McMichael, who has been engaged in research for 29 years, initiated or cooperated in a broad field of research dealing with plant water relations and plant root systems, and has authored or co-authored 147 scientific papers and abstracts. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his contributions to the field of root physiology and in developing approaches to assess the genetic variability in root growth and development.

His work is scientifically recognized in the United States and internationally, leading to collaboration with other scientists on plant root related research projects.

He serves on the organizing committee for the Sixth International Symposium for root research, which is a joint effort of the International Society of Root Research and the Japanese Society of Root Research. As a result of his work on plant root systems, he is a leading member of the Cotton Root Health Work Group funded by Cotton Incorporated.

Dr. McMichael “exemplifies everything we could wish for in a crop physiologist with a strong interest and considerable experience in production agronomy,” said Derrick Oosterhuis, a University of Arkansas scientist and nominator.

Oosterhuis said that McMichael, who conceived the idea and helped produce a highly popular “Root Disorders” handbook for cotton disorders, repeatedly demonstrated his commitment to research and academic excellence.

McMichael earned bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from Texas A&M University. He has received numerous research grants.

Previous cotton physiology award recipients include: James McD. Stewart, University of Arkansas; Oosterhuis; Tom Cothren and Chan Benedict, Texas A&M University; Dan Krieg, Texas Tech University; Gene Guinn, USDA Agricultural Research Service, Phoenix; and John Radin, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, Md..

The Cotton Physiology Conference convenes annually at the National Cotton Council-coordinated Beltwide Cotton Conferences.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.