Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Top Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh

Harlen Persinger 2019 Wisconsin Master Agriculturists
2019 MASTERS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are Wisconsin farmers Sue Bellman, Delavan (left); Joe Henry, Dane; Rick Adams, Elkhorn; and Joe Brantmeier, Sherwood.
Four farmers from Calumet, Dane and Walworth counties received awards on March 27.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist — in partnership with Growmark FS; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C., of Chilton; and Compeer Financial — presented the 2019 Master Agriculturist award to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Recipients were Rick Adams, Elkhorn; Sue Bellman, Delavan; Joe Brantmeier, Sherwood; and Joe Henry, Dane. They were honored on March 27 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

Gary Sipiorski was the keynote speaker. Before becoming dairy development manager for Vita Plus in Madison, Sipiorski worked for 17 years as president and CEO of Citizens State Bank of Loyal. Attorney George Twohig also spoke about the importance of farming and family. There were more than 100 guests in attendance.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in U.S. agriculture. The award dates to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2020 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email, or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. The deadline for nominations for the 2020 awards is Dec. 5.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.