Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States
contoured fields and farmsteads
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 87 years to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top farmers in the state.

Time to nominate a 2018 Master Agriculturist

The deadline for nominations is Dec. 5.

In 2018, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The 2017 Wisconsin Master Agriculturists are Mike Cerny of Sharon, Rick Dado of Amery,  Jim Rickert of Eldorado, and Wally, Sherry, Dan and Paul Siemers of Cleveland.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 87 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

Wisconsin Agriculturist is looking for the cream of the crop. This is a wonderful opportunity to recognize farmers who have excelled and can serve as an inspiration to others.

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285 or send an email to

Nominations must be postmarked by Dec. 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension agriculture agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation.

Farmers previously nominated who haven’t been named Master Agriculturists need a letter sent requesting their nomination be considered for 2018.

Winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and honored at a luncheon on March 28 at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show in Oshkosh. Winners also will be featured in the March issue of Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to: Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.