Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
Sue Bellman, Rick Adams, Joe Henry, Joe Brantmeier
TOP FARMERS: The 2019 Master Agriculturists are Sue Bellman of Delavan (left), Rick Adams of Elkhorn, Joe Henry of Dane and Joe Brantmeier of Sherwood. This photo was taken at Dwight and Shelly Meyer’s barn at Folk Song Farm in Washington County, Wis.

Meet the 2019 Masters

Four Wisconsin farmers are recognized as 2019 Master Agriculturists.

Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with FS Growmark; the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach, S.C., of Chilton, Wis.; and Compeer Financial, proudly presents the 2019 Master Agriculturist award to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state’s oldest farm awards program and is one of the longest-run career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture, dating back to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist started honoring farmers in the state for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Congratulations to Rick Adams of Elkhorn, Sue Bellman of Delavan, Joe Brantmeier of Sherwood and Joe Henry of Dane.

All four winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award. The winners were selected by a panel of judges for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations. The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

Awards program
The 2019 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on March 27 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds.

The keynote speaker at the luncheon is Gary Sipiorski. Before becoming dairy development manager for Vita Plus in Madison 10 years ago, Sipiorski worked for 17 years as president and CEO of Citizens State Bank of Loyal.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form. Forms already are available for the 2020 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email, or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Watch the website next week to read more about this year’s Master Agriculturists.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.