Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Meet the 2017 Masters

Jim and Miles Rickert feeding dairy calves
A MASTER: Jim Rickert, who milks 1,050 Holsteins and farms 2,000 acres near Eldorado, is a 2017 Master Agriculturist. Helping feed calves is his 7-year-old grandson, Miles Rickert.
The 2017 Master Agriculturist honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on March 29 in Oshkosh.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist — in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board; the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C. of Chilton; and Badgerland Financial — proudly presents the 2017 Master Agriculturist award to seven top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state's oldest farm awards program and one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture, dating back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Congratulations to Mike Cerny of Sharon, Rick Dado of Amery, Jim Rickert of Eldorado, and Wally, Sherry, Dan and Paul Siemers of Newton.

All seven winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of the Master Agriculturist award.

Awards program
The 2017 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on March 29 at the La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, which is held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds. The keynote speaker is award-winning author Jerry Apps, who has written more than 40 books during his illustrious career, mostly about Wisconsin agriculture.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and also for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form. Forms are already available for the 2018 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285 or email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Watch the Wisconsin Agriculturist website next week for more stories on this year’s Master Agriculturists.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.