Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IL

Know someone who should be a Master Farmer?

Holly Spangler 2022 Prairie Farmer Master Farmers
2022 MASTERS: Darryl Brinkmann (left) of Carlyle, Ill.; Curt Zehr of Washington, Ill.; Jim Raben of Ridgway, Ill.; and Doug Schroeder of Mahomet, Ill., make up the newest class of Prairie Farmer Master Farmers.
Applications are available for the 2023 Prairie Farmer Master Farmer award, recognizing Illinois agriculturists’ lifetime achievements.

Prairie Farmer is now accepting applications for the 2023 Master Farmer award.

Do you know someone who has made an impact in Illinois agriculture? The individual may be a sibling, neighbor, friend, your parents or even yourself. Regardless, do not hesitate to complete an application and send it in prior to the Aug. 26 deadline!

Farmers can nominate themselves; many farmers submit their own names each year. Feel free to nominate or apply as an individual, a farm couple or siblings. Nominations for couples and sibling partnerships are not uncommon. In 2016, four farm couples received the award. Siblings, Doug and Tom Block, who farm in partnership, were named Master Farmers in 2009, joining a list of names that’s grown past 350.

The 2023 application form is available online. Download it, fill it out and send it in, complete with letters of support, by Aug. 26. For more information or to have an application sent to you, email [email protected].

You will need at least eight recommendation letters to support your nomination, and the selection committee focuses on growth of the operation over time, agriculture productivity and community involvement.

The selection committee will be comprised of Illinois agricultural leaders, including experts in agronomy and agricultural finance, past Master Farmers, agricultural research or university authorities, and Prairie Farmer editorial staff.

Who’s eligible? Here’s a look:

  • Candidates must farm in Illinois, deriving the majority of their income from agricultural production.
  • Successful nominees will have proven ag production records, be recognized as leaders in their community, and will have given back to the community in substantive ways.
  • Candidates may be individuals, couples or siblings; judging is equally weighted.
  • Each nominee should be actively engaged in full-time production agriculture.

The Master Farmer award was founded in 1925 to recognize farmers for their achievements within production agriculture and within their communities. Today, with sponsorship help from Growmark, Prairie Farmer continues to honor the work and values of Master Farmers, both on and off the farm.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.