Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East
American Agriculturist Master Farmer emblem

Introducing 2019’s Mid-Atlantic Master Farmers

The 85th class of Master Farmers is Peter Brummer, Jenny Rhodes, and Barron and Glenn Shaw.

It’s that time of the year! Time to reveal the latest group of Mid-Atlantic Master Farmers.

This year’s crop of Master Farmers is a diverse group that mirrors the many types of farming on the East Coast.

Peter Brummer of Millerstown, Pa., raises field crops, vegetables and livestock on more than 400 acres.

Jenny Rhodes of Centreville, Md., raises 500,000 broilers a year in four chicken houses on Maryland’s Eastern Shore.

Barron and Glenn Shaw of Stewartstown, Pa., grow fruits on 240 acres in Pennsylvania and Maryland.

Full profile stories and slideshows are being posted this week beginning today with a profile of Peter Brummer. Tuesday will feature Jenny Rhodes and Wednesday will highlight Glenn and Barron Shaw.

Each Master Farmer will be honored at this year’s Mid-Atlantic Master Farmer Banquet on July 12 at the Clarion Inn, Frederick Event Center in Frederick, Md. A tour of local farms will be held July 13.

More information can be found at

The 85th class

This year’s crop of Master Farmers comprises the 85th class of Mid-Atlantic Master Farmers.

It is America’s longest running and most prestigious agricultural honors program. It sprouted in 1927 as part of a Master Farmers of America program to foster stewardship and leadership. At that point, the program was initiated by Pennsylvania Farmer magazine and USDA.

Today, the award is co-sponsored by American Agriculturist magazine and by Cooperative Extension programs in Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey and West Virginia. AgChoice Farm Credit, Mid-Atlantic Farm Credit and FS/Growmark are supportive partners.

The Master Farmer award is the lifetime achievement award of agriculture that recognizes exemplary role models of outstanding management, land stewardship and community leadership.

Candidates are nominated by individuals and organizations. Once nominated, candidates receive application forms to complete. This year’s applications were viewed and scored by a three-judge panel in February and March. Final selections were made in late March.

Scoring is weighted as follows: 75% farm management/financial progress; 15% ag leadership involvement; and 10% non-ag leadership.

For more information on the Mid-Atlantic Master Farmer Association, go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.