Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IL
Jim Robbins, Boyd Schaufelberger, Marty Marr, Bill Sahs Holly Spangler
INDUCTED: The 2019 Illinois Master Farmers are Jim Robbins of Peotone (left), Boyd Schaufelberger of Greenville, Marty Marr of Jacksonville and Bill Sahs of Lincoln.

How to nominate a 2020 Master Farmer

Prairie Farmer’s award recognizing lifetime achievement in Illinois agriculture is now accepting nominations.

Prairie Farmer is now accepting nominations for Illinois’ premier lifetime achievement award for farmers.

The Master Farmer program has been run by the magazine since 1925 and relies on those who live and work around Illinois agriculture to nominate producers who set an example, not only by producing impressive crops and livestock, but also by being good stewards of the soil, their families and their communities.

Now’s the time to send in that nomination for the 2020 Master Farmer class. Farmers can also nominate themselves — many farmers submit their own names each year. You can nominate or apply as an individual, as a husband and wife, or even as siblings.

The application form to nominate a 2020 Master Farmer is available online. Download it, fill it out and send it in, complete with letters of support, by Sept. 9.

In 2019, four men were inducted into the Master Farmer group. Master Farmers are also called on to advise and mentor Cultivating Master Farmers program participants — young farmers who are just starting their careers and attend classes alongside their mentors.

Those selected for the 2020 award will receive a plaque and coverage in the March magazine, and recognition at the annual Master Farmer awards banquet. There, previous winners, agricultural leaders, family and friends celebrate Illinois’ leading industry and share insights from a lifetime of experience. 

If you have any questions about this once-in-a-lifetime award, email for more information or to have an application form sent to you.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.