Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
Four 2019 Master Agriculturist winners holding award plaques Harlen Persinger
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program began in Wisconsin in 1930. The farmers honored with the distinction in 2019 are Sue Bellman, Delavan (left); Joe Henry, Dane; Rick Adams, Elkhorn; and Joe Brantmeier, Sherwood.

Deadline nears to nominate a 2020 Master Agriculturist

Nominations are due Dec. 5.

In 2020, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals but also their families.

The program has a rich history dating back 89 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers. Wisconsin Agriculturist is looking for the cream of the crop. This is an opportunity to recognize farmers who have excelled and can serve as an inspiration to others.

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285, or email

Nominations must be emailed or postmarked by Dec. 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension ag agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation.

Farmers previously nominated who haven’t been named Master Agriculturists need a letter sent requesting their nomination be considered for 2020.

Winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and honored April 1 at a luncheon at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show, March 31 to April 2. Winners also will be featured in the March issue of Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.