Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

5 Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh

Harlen Persinger 5 Master Agriculturist award winners
2018 MASTERS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are Wisconsin farmers Tom Kriskovich, Ashland (left); Lyle Ott, Brillion; Keith Ripp, Lodi; Dan Natzke, Greenleaf; and Tom Sarbacker, Verona.
Five farmers from Dane, Calumet, Brown and Ashland counties received awards on March 28.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist — in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board; Growmark/FS; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C., of Chilton; and Compeer Financial — presented the 2018 Master Agriculturist award to five top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Recipients were Tom Kriskovich, Ashland; Dan Natzke, Greenleaf; Lyle Ott, Brillion; Keith Ripp, Lodi; and Tom Sarbacker, Verona. They were honored on March 28 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

Jerry Crownover, a rural author, columnist and cattle farmer from Missouri, entertained the audience with humorous stories about growing up and living on a farm. Attorney George Twohig spoke about the importance of farming and family. There were 140 guests in attendance.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in U.S. agriculture. The award dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2019 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. The deadline for nominations for the 2019 awards is Dec. 5.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.