Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

5 farmers are cream of the crop

Lyle Ott feeds a calf
A MASTER: Lyle Ott, who milks 266 registered Holsteins and farms 550 acres near Brillion, Wis., is a 2018 Master Agriculturist.
Five Wisconsin farmers will be recognized as 2018 Master Agriculturists.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board; Growmark/FS; the ag law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C. of Chilton; and Compeer Financial, proudly presents the 2018 Master Agriculturist award to five top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is Wisconsin’s oldest farm awards program and one of the longest-run career achievement honors programs in U.S. agriculture, dating back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first honored farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Congratulations to Tom Kriskovich of Ashland, Dan Natzke of Greenleaf, Lyle Ott of Brillion, Keith Ripp of Lodi and Tom Sarbacker of Verona. All five winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award.

The 2018 honorees will be recognized at a luncheon on March 28 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds. The keynote speaker is Jerry Crownover, who owns a cow-calf operation in Missouri and writes the column “Life is Simple” in Wisconsin Agriculturist.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The award process begins by requesting a nomination form. Forms already are available for the 2019 awards. To obtain a form, email [email protected], call 920-346-2285, or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Watch the website in the coming days to learn more about the Master Agriculturist program and this year’s individual winners.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.