Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Martin remembered by cotton industry

The late Sykes Martin, an innovative Alabama cotton producer and ginner who demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to the U.S. cotton industry during his career, is the recipient of the 2002 Oscar Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award.

The announcement was made in Dallas at the NCC's annual meeting. Martin's widow, D.D., accepted the award.

The annual award, established in 1997, is named for Oscar Johnston, whose vision, genius and tireless efforts were foremost in the organization and shaping of the NCC more than 60 years ago. The award is presented to an individual, now deceased, who served the cotton industry, through the NCC, over a significant period of his or her active business career.

Recognizing more than office or position held, the award honors someone who, like Johnston, exerted a positive influence on the industry and who demonstrated character and integrity as well as perseverance and maturation during that service.

NCC Chairman James Echols said Martin's dedication and duty to the U.S. cotton industry, as well as his dignity and charm, were known across the country, and that the leadership he provided was invaluable.

His service included 12 years as a NCC delegate, four years as board member, chairman of the American Cotton Producers (formerly Producer Steering Committee), and president of The Cotton Foundation. At the time of his death in 1993, he was treasurer of Cotton Incorporated.

In addition to being an inventive cotton producer, Martin was founder and chairman of Servico Gin Company in Courtland, Ala. This vertically integrated ginning-warehousing-merchandising firm has grown into one of the largest cotton operations in the South.

Previous Oscar Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are: George C. Cortright Jr., a Rolling Fork, Miss., producer and 14th NCC president; Walter Montgomery Sr., a Spartanburg, S.C., textile manufacturer; William Rhea Blake, a former NCC executive vice president; and Roger Malkin, long-time chairman and CEO of Delta and Pine Land Company.

NCC announces board members

NATIONAL COTTON Council directors for 2002 were announced at the industrywide organization's annual meeting.

Elected to the board during were:

  • Producers: Roy Baxley, Dillon, S.C.; Daniel T. Branton, Leland, Miss.; Woody Anderson, Colorado City, Texas; Charles K. Youngker, Buckeye, Ariz.; and Mark D. Williams, Farwell, Texas.

  • Ginners: Wendell S. Dunaway, Hawkinsville, Ga.; Larry R. McClendon, Marianna, Ark.; Myrl Mitchell, Lenorah, Texas; Stanley R. Creelman, Tulare, Calif.; and Michael B. Hooper, Buttonwillow, Calif.

  • Warehousemen: W. Coalter Paxton III, Wilson, N.C.; Neill M. Sloan, Portland, Ark.; Robert Weatherford, Corpus Christi, Texas; H. J. Weathersby, Memphis, Tenn.; and Bragg Smith, Dallas, Texas.

  • Merchants: J. Walker Clarke, Columbia, S.C.; William C. Covington, Richardson, Texas; W. B. Dunavant III, Memphis, Tenn.; Gerald C. Marshall, Cordova, Tenn.; and Robert S. Weil, II, Montgomery, Ala.

  • Crushers: Nancy DeLoach, Valdosta, Ga.; George H. Dunklin, Pine Bluff, Ark.; Thomas W. Detamore, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Sammy Wright, Memphis, Tenn.; and Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas.

  • Cooperatives: Michael Quinn, Garner, N.C.; Woods E. Eastland, Greenwood, Miss.; David Stanford, Lubbock, Texas; Robert W. Norris, Bakersfield, Calif.; and Tommy R. Funk Jr., Harlingen, Texas.

  • Manufacturers: Roger W. Chastain, Greenville, S.C.; Marvin A. Woolen Jr., Greensboro, N.C.; G. Stephen Felker, Monroe, Ga.; Jerry D. Rowland, Winston-Salem, N.C.; and D. Harding Stowe, Belmont, N.C.

NCC state officers

STATE UNIT officers for the National Cotton Council for 2002 were elected at the industrywide organization's annual meeting in Dallas.

Chairmen, vice-chairmen and secretaries, respectively, of Mid-South state units are:

Alabama — Sam R. Spruell, producer, Mt. Hope; Larkin Martin, producer, Courtland; and Neal Isbell, producer, Muscle Shoals.

Arkansas — Neill M. Sloan, warehouseman, Portland; Larry R. McClendon, ginner, Marianna; and Curtis H. Stewart, ginner, Dumas.

Louisiana — Donna B. Winters, producer, Lake Providence; Jon W. Hardwick, producer, Newellton; and Ted Schneider, producer, Lake Providence.

Mississippi — J. Scott Middleton Jr., crusher, Jonestown; Thomas S. Hayes III, producer, Clarksdale; and Michael M. Adams, cooperative, Greenwood.

Missouri-Illinois — Allen Williams, ginner, Cardwell, Mo.; Steven C. Droke, producer, Hornersville, Mo.; and Corky Davis, ginner, Senath, Mo.

Tennessee-Kentucky — John H. Willis, producer, Brownsville, Tenn.; Wayne Tritt, ginner, Brownsville, Tenn.; and John F. Lindamood, producer, Tiptonville, Tenn.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.