May 22, 2012
Farmers should review open burning laws before burning off crop residue to ensure they stay in compliance with state air quality rules.
The North Caroina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources Division of Air Quality created standards for acceptable agricultural burning without a permit in 2009.
“Open burning without a permit can only be done for disease control, pest control or to burn crop residue if necessary to ensure seed and soil contact,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “The guidance document goes into additional detail about what is or is not acceptable.”
North Carolina law prohibits most open burning because the smoke from outdoor fires can cause serious health problems and contribute to air pollution. Under state law, DAQ can assess fines up to $25,000 per violation.
Although farmers may not need a permit from DAQ, farmers may still need to obtain a burn permit from the North Carolina Forest Service if burning will take place within 500 feet of any woodlands. Burn permits are free and good for 30 days from date of issuance. The online application is at www.ncforestservice.gov.
Troxler encourages farmers to contact their local North Carolina Forest Service office or local fire department before burning to ensure that conditions are appropriate for the task.
Questions about air quality should be directed to regional DAQ offices, which can be found at www.ncair.org.
You May Also Like
Current Conditions for
Enter a zip code to see the weather conditions for a different location.
USDA exports – China buys soybeans, November 30, 2023Jan 19, 2023
Brazilian rain prospects weigh on soybeansJan 19, 2023
Farm Progress America, November 30, 2023Nov 29, 2023
What is the cost of a cheap mineral?Nov 29, 2023