Sponsored By
Farm Progress

New officers, chairman to lead ASTANew officers, chairman to lead ASTA

• ASTA represents more than 700 seed-related businesses and is a member-driven organization.

August 9, 2011

2 Min Read

Thirteen seedsmen were nominated and confirmed into leadership positions within the American Seed Trade Association during the 128th Annual Convention.

“ASTA represents more than 700 seed-related businesses and is a member-driven organization,” says Andy LaVigne, ASTA president and chief executive officer.

“Nowhere is this reflected more than in the many volunteers who donate their time, unique skills and expertise for the betterment of the industry. Our members are the foundation of the association and we rely heavily on them to direct our policies.”

New ASTA board members include:

• Peter Entz, assistant vice-president of seed and traits at Richardson International Limited, serving as the Canadian vice-president for ASTA.

• Matt Hynes, FS seed sales and marketing manager at GROWMARK, Inc., serving as Central Region vice-president.

• Richard Taylor, executive vice-president of the Southern Seed Association, serving as the state and regional association representative.

• Mike Baker, general manager at Pennington Seed, Inc., serving as Lawn Seed Division chair.

• Matthew Johnston, chief operating officer at Harris Moran Seed Company, serving as the Vegetable and Flower Seed Division chair.

• Stevan Madjarac, germplasm IP lead at Monsanto Company, serving as Intellectual Property Rights Committee chair.

• Karen McGuire, horticultural diagnostics lead for EnviroLogix, serving as Associates Division chair.

• Rob Mitchell, national seed sales and marketing manager for Simplot, serving as Farm Seed Division chair.

• Mark Mustoe, who does sales and marketing for Clearwater Seed, serving as Environmental & Conservation Seed Committee chair.

• Mark Seem, technical agronomist for LG Seeds (a division of AgReliant Genetics), serving as Corn & Sorghum Seed Division chair.

• Jeff Shaner, soybean product manager at AgVenture, Inc., serving as Soybean Seed Division chair.

• Craig Newman, vice-president of sales and marketing for AgReliant Genetics, LLC, serving as ASTA second vice-chairman.

• Paul Kjolhaug, partner of Mayer Seedline, LLC, serving as Brokers and Agents Division chair.

They join other individuals and together make up the association’s Board of Directors.

Officers and chairs may serve from one to three years, depending on the position.

This group of volunteers is the genesis of leadership and policy, directing the future of ASTA. They are charged with the identifying issues and priorities specific to the seed industry and facilitating discussion of industry-wide activities and concerns, new industry developments and market promotion, among many other tasks.


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like