Farm Progress

LeadAR: Arkansas leadership program adds new participants

Two-year leadership program welcomes new class in February. Class 18 represents 16 counties throughout Arkansas.

Ryan McGeeney

January 31, 2018

2 Min Read

New changes are coming to LeadAR, Arkansas’ premier leadership program.

The program, founded in 1984 and operated by the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, was originally modeled after the W.K. Kellogg Foundation’s leadership training program. Over more than three decades, LeadAR has trained hundreds of participants to serve as leaders in businesses and communities throughout Arkansas, especially in rural and agricultural areas.

Noah Washburn, LeadAR program director, said a series of changes have been implemented for Class 18, which kicks off in mid-February and will conclude in late 2019.

“The purpose of LeadAR is to enhance these emerging community leaders using the latest research tools to expand their self-awareness, increase motivation, and enrich their communication skills as a leader,” Washburn said. “Over the past decades, thinking about leadership in general has expanded to look at individual leaders’ roles within dynamic groups.”

New program objectives include preparing emerging leaders to assumer greater responsibilities within their own organizations, industries and communities; providing participants with diverse perspectives to analyze complex cultural and economic issues, and much more.

The course will be taught through a series of eight three-day seminars, in addition to a week-long study trip within the United States later this year, and a two-week-long international study trip in 2019.

The first seminar is scheduled for Feb. 7-10 in Little Rock. This seminar will focus on leader development and will be held at the Holiday Inn Airport Conference Center.

In addition to the Division of Agriculture, LeadAR also is supported by the Arkansas Farm Bureau Federation, Farm Credit Midsouth, Farm Credit of Western Arkansas, AgHeritage Farm Credit Services, the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, many LeadAR alumni, individuals and organizations.

Class 18 members

LeadAR Class 18 includes 28 participants from 16 counties throughout the state. Those class members are:

Anthony Armstrong of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Sudha Bande of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Jacob Box of McGehee, Desha County; Gayla Bradley of Clinton, Van Buren County; Lori Burrows of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Ethan Dunbar of Lewisville, Lafayette County; Jonathan Duran of Benton, Saline County; Arlisa Harris of Forrest City, St Frances County; Marc Harrison of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Jason Hayes of Brinkley, Monroe County;

Jennifer Johnson of Blytheville, Mississippi County; Stephanie Malone of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Rickey McCauley of Proctor, Crittenden County; Tyler McDonald of Lewisville, Lafayette County; Ryan McGeeney of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Brad McGinley of Sheridan, Grant County; Dr. Kyle T. Miller of Helena, Phillips County; Curtis Moore of Lincoln, Washington County; Christian Olson of Little Rock, Pulaski County;

Ana Phakhin of Springdale, Washington County; Gina Radke of North Little Rock, Pulaski County; Rick Reed of Batesville, Independence County; Elizabeth Solano of Little Rock, Saline County; Donette Spann of Cabot, Lonoke County; Maddison Stewart of Little Rock, Pulaski County; Yolanda Wallace of West Helena, Phillips County; Chris Wasson of El Dorado, Union County; and Mary Wood of Russellville, Pope County.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like