Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Harry Collins receives seed industry award

Mississippi's Harry Collins recognized by the American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) with its Lifetime Honorary Member Award. Collins' long list of achievements listed.

Harry Collins of Scott, Miss., was recognized by the American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) with its Lifetime Honorary Member Award at this summer's ASTA annual convention.

“Harry has been a longtime supporter of the seed industry and the association,” says John Nelsen, ASTA chairman during the 2010/11 fiscal year. “His efforts and participation have helped shape the industry and provided guidance on complex issues throughout the years.

“He has distinguished himself in many ways – through leadership, vision, service and most importantly, results.”

The award is one of the highest awards given out by ASTA and is in recognition of his untiring service to the association, as well as the seed industry.

Collins was vice president of technology transfer at Delta and Pine Land Company in Scott, Miss., prior to Monsanto’s acquisition in 2007 where he became a special projects leader. Upon retirement from Monsanto in 2009, Collins serves as a consultant to Monsanto Company and represents Monsanto and ASTA at various meetings of the International Seed Federation’s Intellectual Property Committee and Sustainable Agriculture Committee.

Collins has experience breeding alfalfa, soybeans and annual flower species. He served as ASTA chairman during the 2006/07 fiscal year and has served on the Board of Directors and numerous committees for several years. Collins was also appointed to the eleven-member Soybean Research Advisory Institute by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture in 1982 and in 2002 he was appointed to the Plant Variety Protection Advisory Board and served three terms.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.