Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

Dierschke elected to 10th term as TFB president

Drought influenced policy adopted by Texas Farm Bureau (TFB) members as they wrapped up their 78th annual meeting. Delegates supported a change in state and federal wildfire policy. Kenneth Dierschke, a grain and cotton farmer from San Angelo, was elected to his 10thconsecutive one-year term as Texas Farm Bureau president.

Wildfires that ravaged nearly 4 million acres of Texas and the accompanying drought influenced policy adopted by Texas Farm Bureau (TFB) members as they wrapped up their 78th annual meeting in Corpus Christi.

“This drought has had a devastating impact on the farm and ranch families in Texas,” said TFB President Kenneth Dierschke, who was elected to his 10th term as president of the state’s largest farm organization. “Just as this drought will influence the operation of our farms and ranches for years to come, it has sparked policy to ensure we are prepared for dry times in the future.”

As Texas Farm Bureau and county Farm Bureaus’ reflected on donations totaling nearly $1.5 million to relief efforts for volunteer fire departments, voting delegates adopted a resolution to limit personal liability for volunteer fire departments and private citizens for any actions, on either public or private property, related to wildfires.

Delegates also supported a change in state and federal wildfire policy to require federal fire managers and incident commanders to coordinate with local fire departments and landowners when acting as first responders and contributing to firefighting efforts.

Addressing drought concerns, delegates said the selling of livestock, hay, grain, fiber or nut production should not result in the loss of agricultural valuation status for a period of three years following the end of a declared drought or natural disaster. They supported legislation requiring that land controlled by the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department and environmental/conservation groups be managed in a manner that improves water conservation and diminishes fire risks by reducing excess undergrowth and thinning forests.

They supported more aggressive programs to improve water conservation and water quality by removing and controlling non-beneficial/non-productive invasive plant and animal species that consume or impede water flow in streams, ponds, lakes and estuaries.

They supported continued programs of brush removal and riparian management that aids in flood control. They also supported intense research on beneficial plant species, animal species and agricultural practices that will conserve water and more efficient methods of applying water and creating more efficient dryland farming techniques.

National Policy

In national policy, delegates made technical adjustments to ensure crop insurance works better for Texas farmers. They also supported development of the 2012 Farm Bill focused on the following principles:

  • If direct and/or counter-cyclical payments are eliminated or the loss is inevitable, support an enhanced revenue-based risk management program, including livestock and forage losses that would provide adequate producer risk mitigation.
  • Conservation programs should be adequately funded with emphasis on the Environmental Quality Incentive Program (EQIP).
  • Continued use of the commodity marketing loan program that accurately reflects the cost of production.

It a three-way race, Kenneth Dierschke, a grain and cotton farmer from San Angelo, was elected to his 10thconsecutive one-year term as Texas Farm Bureau president. Upon adjournment of the meeting, the board reelected Dewey Hukill of Lamb County as vice president. They chose Russell Boening of Wilson County as secretary-treasurer.


New state directors include:

  • Robert Gordon, a corn, wheat and sorghum producer representing District 1. A member of the Dallam County Farm Bureau, Gordon and his wife, Patricia, have three children and three grandchildren.
  • Michael White, a wheat and cotton farmer and cattleman representing District 3.  A member of the Wilbarger County Farm Bureau, White and his wife, Susan, have two children.
  • Albert Thompson and his wife, Deanna, raise cattle and timber near Nacogdoches. A member of the Nacogdoches County Farm Bureau and representing District 9, Thompson will fill the remainder of the term of Jay Snook, who passed away in September.
  • Bob Reed, a rice, soybean and sorghum farmer representing District 11. A member of the Matagorda County Farm Bureau, Reed and his wife, Debbie, have three children.

Board members reelected to two year terms include:  Dan Shelton, a hay and cattle producer from De Kalb, District 5; Dave Edmiston, who runs a cow/calf, wildlife and hay operation near Brady, District 7; and Dale Murden, who grows sugarcane, citrus, grains, vegetables and soybeans near Monte Alto, District 13.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.