Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Louisiana Rice Research Board takes office

A new 13-member Louisiana Rice Research Board has taken the oath of office. The board oversees the use of check-off funds from rice farmers, which are assessed at the rate of 5 cents per hundredweight of rice and are to be used for research.

In recent years, it has provided more than $1 million annually to fund LSU AgCenter projects at the AgCenter's Rice Research Station and other locations.

The board includes new members Linda Zaunbrecher of Gueydan, Sammy Noel of Abbeville, Dane Hebert of Maurice, Fred Zaunbrecher of Duson, Clarence Berken of Lake Arthur, and Donald Berken of Welsh.

Existing board members reappointed to new terms are Bobby Miller of Eunice, Johnny Hensgens of Lake Charles, Wayne Wild of Crowley, Johnny Boudreaux of Abbeville, Brian Wild of Welsh, Richard Fontenot of Ville Platte and Jackie Loewer of Branch.

The board members were appointed by Louisiana Gov. Kathleen Blanco, and they were sworn into office by Acadia Parish Clerk of Court Robbie Barousse.

In addition to the swearing-in ceremonies, the board also heard an overview of its finances from accountant Kyle McCann.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.