Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Delta Council hosts approximately 1,000 post lockdown attendees

U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde Smith (R-Miss.), left, and Delta Council President Patrick Johnson, Jr., at the 86th Delta Council Annual Meeting.
Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith gave the key note address at the Delta Council's 86th Annual Meeting on June 4.

U.S. Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) told the crowd at the 86th Annual Meeting of the Delta Council that during the flooding along the Mississippi River during the past several years, the Delta did not break— it was Delta strong. 

She spoke to approximately 1,000 attendees in the Bologna Performing Arts Center at Delta State University in Cleveland, Miss., on June 4. The Delta Council, which is the economic development organization representing the 18 Delta and part-Delta counties of Northwest Mississippi, did not hold its annual meeting last year in Cleveland due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The 2021 annual meeting put the Delta Council back on pace for its regular in-person schedule, although smaller committee meetings have been held since pandemic restrictions have been lifted. 

Paul Hollis, the council's 2020/21 president opened the meeting, introduced elected officials and special dignitaries, introduced new officers and 2021-2022 President Patrick Johnson, Tunica, Miss., presented two scholarships and introduced keynote speaker Cindy Hyde-Smith. 

Hyde-Smith noted that a high priority for the Lower Mississippi Delta must be flood control and ensuring that the backwater pumps project remains on track to ensure the safety of the people living and working in the area. 

"There are many who have played a significant role in this effort," she said. "And I just want to say thank you to them all." 

She also discussed what she called the big strides the Delta has made in the last few years including transportation improvements, telehealth, education, workforce development, agricultural research, conservation, basic public infrastructure and flood control. 

"These things are key to the foundation of our economic growth and long-term sustainability," she said. "Agriculture will always be the backbone of the Delta's economy." 

Achievement award winners for 2021 annual meeting 

Outstanding Contributions to Delta Aquaculture

Dr. Menghe Li, Delta Research & Extension Center – MSU Stoneville, Miss.  

Outstanding Contributions to Cotton Ginning 

David Cochran, Jr., Avon Gin, Greenville, Miss.  

Outstanding Soybean Producer 

Pierce Brown, Brown Farms, Schlater, Miss.  

Outstanding Contributions to Hardwood Forestry 

Conner Fristoe, Weyerhaeuser Company, Hattiesburg, Miss. 

Outstanding Rice Producer 

Allan Grittman, Grittman Farms, Drew, Miss. 

Conservation Farmer of The Year 

Gary Bailey, Robinsonville, Miss.  

Outstanding Contributions to Research 

Dr. Jeff Gore Delta Research & Extension Center, MSU Stoneville, Miss.  

Pace-Setter Award (Membership Chairman), 

Scott Coopwood, Cleveland, Miss. 

Good Middling Community Service  

Sherilyn Jones, Inverness, Miss. 

2021-2022 Delta Council Officers 

  • Patrick Johnson, Jr, Tunica, Miss., President 
  • La Shon Brooks, Itta Bena, Miss., Vice-President 
  • Lawson Gary, Greenwood, Miss., Vice-President. 
  • Jay Gore, Grenada, Miss., Vice-President 
  • Shaw Johnson III, Clarksdale, Miss., Vice-President. 
  • Johnny McRight, Greenville, Miss., Vice-President 
  • Tim Timbs,Indianola, Miss., Vice-President 
  • Craig Shideler, Senatobia, Miss., Treasurer 
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.