Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East
Corn+Soybean Digest

Johanns Announces Soybean Board Appointments

Johanns Announces Soybean Board Appointments

Secretary of Agriculture Mike Johanns has announced 15 appointments, 1 interim appointment, and 1 alternate appointment to the United Soybean Board (USB). All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning December 2006. The interim appointee will serve a 1-year term.

Appointed members representing soybean producers by state are: James H. Carroll III, Arkansas; Mark L. Detweiler, Georgia; Kenneth L. Dalenberg, Illinois; Karen L. Fear, Indiana; Laura L. Foell, Iowa; Benny F. Cooper, Kentucky; Ike P. Boudreaux, Louisiana; James A. Call, Minnesota; Terry L. Ecker, Missouri; Loyd L. Pointer, Nebraska; Floyd L. Peed, North Carolina; Vanessa A. Kummer, North Dakota; Thomas F. Brown, Ohio; Michael H. Gerhart, Pennsylvania; George L. Christensen, South Dakota; and Robert B. Johnson, Virginia.

Robert N. Haselwood, Kansas, was appointed to serve the remainder of a term vacated by resignation.

Keith M. Dunn, Virginia, was appointed as an alternate member.

The 64-member Board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. USDA selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by Qualified State Soybean Boards. The mandatory program is funded at the rate of one-half of 1% of the net market price of soybeans purchased.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the Board.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.