is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

House announces farm bill conferees

Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson has released the list of congressmen appointed to participate in the conference committee that will negotiate the 2008 farm bill.

“The members serving on this conference committee have a challenging job as we work to come to an agreement that will move the farm bill forward,” Peterson said. “I’m confident that if everyone comes to the table willing to negotiate and compromise, we can pass a new farm bill that will expand important nutrition and conservation programs and provide new resources for fruit and vegetable producers and renewable energy programs while improving the farm safety net.”

Democratic members selected to serve on the conference committee are:

From the Agriculture Committee: Collin C. Peterson of Minnesota; Tim Holden of Pennsylvania; Mike McIntyre of North Carolina; Bob Etheridge of North Carolina; Leonard Boswell of Iowa; Joe Baca of California; Dennis Cardoza of California; and David Scott of Georgia.

Democratic conferees from other committees include: George Miller of California (Education and Labor); Carolyn McCarthy of New York (Education and Labor); John Dingell of Michigan (Energy and Commerce); Frank Pallone of New Jersey (Energy and Commerce); Paul Kanjorski of Pennsylvania (Financial Services); Maxine Waters of California (Financial Services); Howard Berman of California (Foreign Affairs); Brad Sherman of California (Foreign Affairs); John Conyers of Michigan (Judiciary); Bobby Scott of Virginia (Judiciary); Nick Rahall of West Virginia (Natural Resources); Madeline Bordallo of Guam (Natural Resources); Henry Waxman of California (Oversight and Government Reform); Edolphus Towns of New York (Oversight and Government Reform); Bart Gordon of Tennessee (Science and Technology); Nick Lampson of Texas (Science and Technology); Nydia Velasquez of New York (Small Business); Heath Shuler of North Carolina (Small Business); Jim Oberstar of Minnesota (Transportation and Infrastructure); Eleanor Holmes Norton of the District of Columbia (Transportation and Infrastructure); Charles Rangel of New York (Ways and Means); and Earl Pomeroy of North Dakota (Ways and Means).

Republican members selected to serve on the conference committee are:

From the Agriculture Committee are: Bob Goodlatte of Virginia: Frank Lucas of Oklahoma: Jerry Moran of Kansas; Robin Hayes of North Carolina; Marilyn Musgrave of Colorado; and Randy Neugebauer of Texas.

Republican conferees from other committees include: Todd Platts of Pennsylvania (Education and Labor); Joe Barton of Texas (Energy and Commerce); Spencer Bachus of Alabama (Financial Services); Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Florida (Foreign Affairs); Lamar Smith of Texas (Judiciary); Cathy McMorris-Rodgers of Washington (Natural Resources); Jim Jordan of Ohio (Oversight and Government Reform); Michael McCaul of Texas (Science and Technology); Steve Chabot of Ohio (Small Business); Sam Graves of Missouri (Transportation and Infrastructure); and Jim McCrery of Louisiana (Ways and Means).

Members selected from House leadership to serve on the conference committee are Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut and Adam Putnam of Florida.

The House Committee on Agriculture Web site has additional information on this and other subjects.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.