is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Water woes parch five Oklahoma counties

Drought assistance package for five Oklahoma counties was recommended by the Emergency Drought Commission.

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin has approved $300,000 in drought cost-share funds to help Tillman, Harmon, Jackson, Greer, and Texas counties as they suffer through extreme-to-exceptional drought. The assistance package was recommended by the Emergency Drought Commission.

“I am pleased to approve funding for the conservation districts in the designated drought counties to provide assistance to our ag producers whose operations have been devastated over the past two and a half years by the severe drought,” said Governor Fallin.


If you are enjoying reading this article, please check out Southwest Farm Press Daily and receive the latest news right to your inbox.


The Oklahoma Conservation Commission (OCC) worked with conservation districts in the five affected counties to determine the amount of cost-share funds needed by landowners and cooperators to provide water for livestock producers and restore pasture and range land. The Conservation Commission’s request was approved by the Emergency Drought Commission on November 8, 2013.

While the drought relief funds will be managed by OCC and conservation districts the same way as the statewide conservation cost-share program, the $1.3 million OCC approved for that program in September are separate from the drought relief funds, which will be used specifically for implementing drought relief measures in the five counties.

The Emergency Drought Commission is comprised of Secretary of Agriculture, Jim Reese; the executive director of the Oklahoma Conservation Commission, Mike Thralls; and the executive director of the Oklahoma Water Resource Board, J.D. Strong.



Also of interest:

Drought, dry conditions common theme in Texas agriculture past 25 year…

Even the best farmers thwarted by drought

Drought effects still being felt in southwestern Oklahoma

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.