Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

USDA letter addresses Mississippi disaster designations

USDA letter regarding agricultural disaster designations in Mississippi released. Contiguous counties -- including those in Arkansas, Louisiana and Tennessee -- listed.

The office of Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran is pointing Mid-South farmers to a USDA letter regarding agricultural disaster designations in Mississippi for the counties of Adams, Claiborne, De Soto, Humphreys, Jefferson, Quitman, Warren, Wilkinson and Yazoo. Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Amite, Attala, Coahoma, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Leflore, Lincoln, Madison, Marshall, Panola, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica and Washington.

Benefits are also available for the following designated contiguous counties in the states of Arkansas (Crittenden), Louisiana (Concordia, East Carroll, Madison Tensas, East Feliciana and West Feliciana) and Tennessee (Shelby).

View the letter here

Producers in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans (EM) and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE). SURE was approved as part of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 and was implemented beginning on January 4, 2010.

Regarding EM loans, FSA will consider each application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.