is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Lucas announces subcommittee chairs, Republican roster

Lucas announces subcommittee chairs, Republican roster

House ag subcommittee chairs named Lucas is House Ag Chairman-elect Republican committee members named

Chairmen of the House Agriculture Committee and also released the complete Republican roster for the 112th Congress. Additionally, Rep. Lucas announced that Rep. Bob Goodlatte of Virginia will serve as Vice Chairman of the full committee.

"Our Subcommittee Chairmen have demonstrated a commitment to ensuring the success of American agriculture and rural economies. They are ready to join me in addressing the challenges that farmers, ranchers, and small businesses face across rural America. The next year will be an exercise in educating our freshmen members on both sides of the aisle, providing oversight of the administration, and building a strong working relationship as we prepare to reauthorize the farm bill in 2012," said Lucas. 

Lucas designated the following Subcommittee Chairmen and their jurisdictions (listed alphabetically by subcommittee name):

• Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-5):  Conservation, Energy, and Forestry

Jurisdiction:  Soil, water, and resource conservation, small watershed program, energy and bio-based energy production, rural electrification, forestry in general and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.

• Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1):  Department Operations, Oversight, and Credit Jurisdiction:  Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, and agricultural credit.

• Rep. K. Michael Conaway, (TX-11):  General Farm Commodities and Risk Management Jurisdiction:  Program and markets related to cotton, cottonseed, wheat, feed grains, soybeans, oilseeds, rice, dry beans, peas, lentils, the Commodity Credit Corporation, risk management, including crop insurance, commodity exchanges, and specialty crops.

• Rep. Tom Rooney (FL-16):  Livestock, Dairy, and Poultry Jurisdiction: Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare, and grazing.

• Rep. Jean Schmidt (OH-2):  Nutrition and Horticulture Jurisdiction:  Food stamps, nutrition and consumer programs, fruits and vegetables, honey and bees, marketing and promotion orders, plant pesticides, quarantine, adulteration of seeds and insect pests, and organic agriculture.

• Rep. Timothy V. Johnson (IL-15):  Rural Development, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture Jurisdiction:  Rural Development, farm security and family farming matters, biotechnology, foreign agriculture assistance, and trade promotion programs, generally.

Republican members

The list of Republican members of the Agriculture Committee follows (new members are listed alphabetically):  

Frank D. Lucas (OK), Chairman-elect

Bob Goodlatte (VA), Vice Chairman-elect

Timothy V. Johnson (IL)

Steve King (IA)

Randy Neugebauer (TX)

K. Michael Conaway (TX)

Jeff Fortenberry (NE)

Jean Schmidt (OH)

Glenn Thompson (PA)

Tom Rooney (FL)

Rick Crawford (AR)

Scott DesJarlais (TN)

Renee Elmers (NC)

Stephen Fincher (TN)

Bob Gibbs (OH)

Chris Gibson (NY)

Vicky Hartzler (MO)

Tim Huelskamp (KS)

Randy Hultgren (IL)

Reid Ribble (WI)

Martha Roby (AL)

Bobby Schilling (IL)

Austin Scott (GA)

Steve Southerland (FL)

Marlin Stutzman (IN)

Scott Tipton (CO)

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.