Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

House selects Ag Committee

Agriculture Committee Chair Collin C. Peterson of Minnesota has announced the members selected to serve on the House Agriculture Committee for the 111th Congress.

The House Democratic Steering Committee named 11 freshmen members and 17 returning members to serve on the Agriculture Committee. The House Republican Conference named 17 Republicans to serve on the committee and left one seat vacant.

The 28 Democrats who will serve on the committee are:

. Rep. Collin C. Peterson of Minnesota (chairman)

. Rep. Tim Holden of Pennsylvania

. Rep. Mike McIntyre of North Carolina

. Rep. Leonard L. Boswell of Iowa

. Rep. Joe Baca of California

. Rep. Dennis A. Cardoza of California

. Rep. David Scott of Georgia

. Rep. Jim Marshall of Georgia

. Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin of South Dakota

. Rep. Henry Cuellar of Texas

. Rep. Jim Costa of California

. Rep. Brad Ellsworth of Indiana

. Rep. Timothy J. Walz of Minnesota

. Rep. Kirsten E. Gillibrand of New York

. Rep. Steve Kagen of Wisconsin

. Rep. Kurt Schrader of Oregon

. Rep. Deborah L. Halvorson of Illinois

. Rep. Kathleen A. Dahlkemper of Pennsylvania

. Rep. Eric J. J. Massa of New York

. Rep. Bobby Bright of Alabama

. Rep. Betsy Markey of Colorado

. Rep. Frank Kratovil, Jr. of Maryland

. Rep. Mark H. Schauer of Michigan

. Rep. Larry Kissell of North Carolina

. Rep. John A. Boccieri of Ohio

. Rep. Earl Pomeroy of North Dakota

. Rep. Travis W. Childers of Mississippi

. Rep. Walt Minnick of Idaho

The 17 Republicans (with one additional vacant seat) who will serve on the committee are:

. Rep. Frank Lucas of Oklahoma (ranking member)

. Rep. Bob Goodlatte of Virginia

. Rep. Jerry Moran of Kansas

. Rep. Timothy V. Johnson of Illinois

. Rep. Sam Graves of Missouri

. Rep. Mike Rogers of Alabama

. Rep. Steve King of Iowa

. Rep. Randy Neugebauer of Texas

. Rep. Virginia Foxx of North Carolina

. Rep. K. Michael Conaway of Texas

. Rep. Jeff Fortenberry of Nebraska

. Rep. Jean Schmidt of Ohio

. Rep. Adrian Smith of Nebraska

. Rep. Robert E. Latta of Ohio

. Rep. Phil Roe of Tennessee

. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer of Missouri

. Rep. Glenn W. Thompson of Pennsylvania

The House Agriculture Committee has jurisdiction over a wide range of agriculture and rural development issues. These areas include renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, conservation, international trade, futures market regulation, animal and plant health, agricultural research, bioterrorism, forestry, and others.

Peterson has served as chair of the Agriculture Committee since 2007.

TAGS: Legislative
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.