Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

House and Senate Leadership for the 111th Congress

National Cotton Council Washington Operations has provided a listing of House and Senate Leadership for the 111th Congress:

House Democrats Elect Larson, Becerra As Leaders Of Caucus

Members of the House Democratic Caucus Tuesday (Nov. 18) elected Rep. John Larson (D-CT) as the Chairman of the Caucus to replace Rep. Rahm Emanuel (D-IL), and chose Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA) as the deputy chairman over Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH).

Emanuel has been designated as the future White House chief of staff by President-elect Barrack Obama. Larson serves on the trade subcommittee of the House Ways and Means committee and voted against the Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA) but for the Peru-U.S. Free trade agreement.

Becerra also voted for the Peru FTA, and also opposed the CAFTA, while Kaptur has been outspoken critic of free trade agreements. He has served as assistant to the Speaker. Becerra won by a vote of 175 to 67.

But participating members said after today's caucus that trade was not a deciding issue in the Becerra election over Kaptur. Instead, they said, a number of factors go into a member's decision, including how much of a leader they perceive a candidate to be, his or her ability to raise money for the party, and a willingness to listen to members' priority issues.

The Caucus also reelected House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD), and House Whip James Clyburn (D-SD) and Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chris Van Hollen (D-MD).

The Senate Democratic Leadership for the 111th Congress:

Robert C. Byrd, President Pro TemporeAs President pro tempore, Senator Byrd will continue to provide the Democratic Caucus leadership and experience gained from a lifetime of public service.

Dick Durbin, Assistant Majority Leader

As Assistant Majority Leader, Senator Durbin will continue to serve as the Majority Leader's key aide on and off the floor, helping to lead the Democrats' fight to protect America and help working families get ahead.

Charles E. Schumer, Vice Chair of the Conference

The third-ranking member of the Democratic leadership, Senator Schumer will continue to oversee strategy and policy to keep and build support for Democratic values.

Patty Murray, Secretary of the Conference

As Secretary of the Conference, Senator Murray will continue to play a critical role in helping shape and set the Democratic agenda.

Byron L. Dorgan, Chairman of Policy Committee

Senator Dorgan will continue to provide strong leadership at the Democratic Policy Committee (DPC). Under Senator Dorgan, the DPC has been credited with conducting aggressive Congressional oversight and generating innovative policy ideas for the Democratic Caucus.

Debbie Stabenow, Chair of Steering and Outreach Committee

Senator Stabenow will continue to serve as Chair of the Steering and Outreach Committee. In her role as chair, Senator Stabenow will engage Democratic Senators and community leaders across the country in an active dialogue about the pressing issues facing our nation.

Jeff Bingaman, Chairman of Committee Outreach

As Chairman of Committee Outreach, Senator Bingaman will continue to provide a voice in the Democratic leadership for Committee Chairs. Bingaman will harness the Committee Chairs' tremendous knowledge and experience, and ensure their important committee work is advanced in a united and consistent manner.

Blanche L. Lincoln, Chair of Rural Outreach

Senator Lincoln will again serve as Chair of Rural Outreach. This position was created in the 109th Congress as a sign of the Democrats' strong commitment to aggressively engage and communicate with rural Americans. In this post, Senator Lincoln will continue to guide rural outreach for the Caucus and find new ways to reach rural, suburban and exurban American communities.

Barbara Boxer, Chief Deputy Whip

As Chief Deputy Whip, Senator Boxer will continue to be responsible for managing and implementing Caucus efforts on the Senator floor. Working alongside the Democratic Leader and Assistant Democratic Leader, Boxer plays an instrumental role in articulating, advancing and achieving the objectives of the Democratic Caucus.

Thomas R. Carper, Deputy Whip

Bill Nelson, Deputy Whip

Russell D. Feingold, Deputy Whip

Serving as Deputy Whips, Senators Carper, Nelson and Feingold will play critical roles in marshalling the Caucus's forces.

TAGS: Legislative
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.