is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Fourteen Tennessee counties designated primary natural disaster areas

The USDA has designates 14 counties in Tennessee as primary natural disaster areas. Designation follows drought and excessive heat in 2011. Designated counties -- and those contiguous -- eligible for government programs.  

The USDA has designated 14 counties in Tennessee as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred from May 1, 2011, through Oct. 31, 2011. Those counties are: Blount, Fentress, McMinn, Monroe, Scott, Cumberland, Haywood, Macon, Morgan, Wilson, Fayette, Loudon, Meigs and Roane.

“Tennessee producers can continue to count on USDA to provide emergency assistance during difficult times,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to using the resources at our disposal to reduce the impact of these disasters on Tennessee producers and help to get those affected back on their feet.”

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Tennessee also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are: Anderson, Crockett, Knox, Putnam, Summer, Bledsoe, Davidson, Lauderdale, Rhea, Tipton, Bradley, De Kalb, Madison, Rutherford, Trousdale, Campbell, Hamilton, Overton, Sevier, Van Buren, Cannon, Hardeman, Pickett, Shelby, White, Clay, Jackson, Poll and Smith.

Farmers and ranchers in counties in Kentucky, Mississippi andNorth Carolinaalso qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Kentucky: Allen, McCreary, Monroe and Wayne.

Mississippi:Benton and Marshall.

North Carolina:Cherokee, Graham and Swain.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Dec. 29, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Secretary Vilsack also reminds producers that the department’s authority to operate the five disaster assistance programs authorized by the 2008 farm bill expired on Sept. 30, 2011. This includes SURE; the Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP); the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honey Bees, and Farm-Raised Fish (ELAP); the Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP); and the Tree Assistance Program (TAP). Production losses in the counties listed above are covered because the event triggering the loss occurred prior to the expiration of these programs; however, production losses due to disasters occurring after Sept. 30, 2011, are not eligible for disaster program coverage.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.