is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Disaster assistance sign-up for 2010 crops opens Nov. 1

The Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) program enrollment for 2010 crop year losses begins Nov. 14, 2011.

California USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director Val Dolcini announced that the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) program enrollment for 2010 crop year losses begins Nov. 14, 2011.

“The SURE program provides a safety net of assistance to producers when disaster strikes, so I encourage California farmers and ranchers with 2010 crop losses to contact their county FSA office to learn more about the program," said Dolcini.

There are two basic qualification methods for a SURE payment.  In the first method, the producer's operation must be located in a county that was declared a 2010 disaster county by the USDA Secretary or in a contiguous county and the natural disaster must have caused at least a 10 percent production loss on a crop of economic significance in the operation. In the second method, all producers in all counties are eligible for SURE benefits if they had a production loss equal to or greater than 50 percent of the normal production on the farm due to any qualifying natural disaster.

In California, the counties receiving a Secretarial disaster designation during 2010 included Lassen, San Joaquin and Tuolumne.  Contiguous counties were Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra and Stanislaus.

Washoe County in Nevada was a contiguous county and in Oregon, the following counties were either primary or contiguous: Benton, Coos, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Jefferson, Josephine, Lane, Linn, Marion and Polk.   

Further eligibility requirements include the stipulation that producers must have obtained a policy or plan of insurance for all insurable crops through the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation. For crops without insurance programs, Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) coverage must have been obtained from FSA. Eligible farmers and ranchers who meet the definition of a socially disadvantaged, limited resource or beginning farmer or rancher do not have to meet this risk-management requirement. Forage crops intended for grazing are not eligible for SURE benefits.

For more information on SURE program eligibility requirements contact your nearest county FSA office or visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.