is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Gary W. Taylor elected CCI president

Gary W. Taylor, a Memphis, Tenn, merchant, was elected president of Cotton Council International (CCI) for 2005, moving up from first vice president. He was named during CCI's annual meeting at the National Cotton Council's (NCC) annual meeting in Washington, D.C. CCI is the NCC's export promotions arm.

Taylor, who is president and chief executive officer for Cargill Cotton Company, is a director of the NCC and the American Cotton Shippers Association of which he is a past president. He also is a past director of the Southern Cotton Association and a founding board member of two Memphis firms, The Seam and EWR, Inc. Taylor succeeds Robert Norris, a cooperative official in Bakersfield, Calif., who becomes CCI board chairman.

Other CCI officers elected for 2005 are: first vice president David L. Burns, producer, Laurel Hill, N.C.; second vice president Michael M. Adams, cooperative official from Greenwood, Miss.; and treasurer, Robert S. Weil, II, a Montgomery, Ala., merchant. Mark D. Lange of Memphis, Tenn., was re-elected secretary and Allen A. Terhaar of Washington, D.C., was re-elected assistant secretary.

CCI elected two new directors for 2005 — John Burch, cooperative official, Bakersfield, Calif.; and Richard Kelley, producer, Burlison, Tenn.

Re-elected directors include: PRODUCERS — Cliett A. Lowman, III, Kingsville, Texas; Clyde T. Sharpe, Yuma, Ariz.; Ted D. Sheely, Lemoore, Calif.; Lawrence E. Starrh, Shafter, Calif.; James L. Webb, Leary, Ga.; and Mark D. Williams, Farwell, Texas; GINNERS — Thomas S. (Sid) Brough, Edroy, Texas; and Robert W. Glassman, Fresno, Calif.; MERCHANTS — Eduardo L. Esteve, Jr., Dallas, Texas; Rodger C. Glaspey, Fresno, Calif.; R. Dale Grounds, Dallas, Texas; Adolph Weil, III, Montgomery, Ala.; and William G. Winburne, Phoenix, Ariz.; COOPERATIVES — David L. Hand, El Paso, Texas; and Lonnie D. Winters, Lubbock, Texas; COTTONSEED PROCESSORS/DEALERS — Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas; WAREHOUSEMEN — Vance C. Shoaf, Milan, Tenn; and MANUFACTURERS — Jerry D. Rowland, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Kingsville, Texas; and Owen J. (Trey) Hodges, III, Columbus, Ga.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.