Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Wisconsin couple wins World Dairy Expo forage contest

Eugene Rodberg, Alex and Mary Olson, Al Deming
TOP PRODUCERS: Grand champion forage producer of the 2017 World Forage Analysis Superbowl was awarded to Breezy Hill Dairy. Pictured are (from left) Eugene Rodberg of Kemin, Alex and Mary Olson from Breezy Hill Dairy, and Al Deming, president of World Dairy Expo.
Breezy Hill Dairy, owned by Alex and Mary Olson of Dallas, took home grand champion honors for its corn silage.

The World Forage Analysis Superbowl evaluated a record-breaking 1,066 entries and presented awards to top finishers at the World Forage Analysis Superbowl Awards Luncheon, sponsored by Mycogen Seeds, at World Dairy Expo on Oct. 4. Breezy Hill Dairy, owned by Alex and Mary Olson of Dallas, Wis., took home grand champion honors and was awarded $2,500 from Kemin for the recognition for its corn silage.

The Olsons, who hosted the 2013 Wisconsin Farm Technology Days, milk 700 cows on their Barron County farm. This was only the second time they have entered the World Forage Analysis Superbowl.

“We never expected to win,” Alex Olson says.

Record entries
The World Forage Analysis Superbowl evaluated double the number of entries submitted last year — a record-breaking 1,066, according to Dan Undersander, University of Wisconsin-Madison Extension forage agronomist.

“This is the world’s largest forage contest any place,” Undersander says.

World Dairy Expo President Al Deming adds, “Anytime you have a contest that doubles in size in one year, that’s exciting. We’re very appreciative of this contest and certainly of your tremendous growth.”

More than $25,000 in cash prizes was awarded to top-finishing producers participating in this year’s contest.

The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $1,500, sponsored by Kuhn North America, went to Judd Farms, Waterville, Minn. In addition, two Quality Counts Awards, sponsored by Croplan by Winfield United, were presented to the Quality Counts Corn Silage Winner, Fredrick Farms, Owen Wis.; and the Quality Counts Hay/Haylage Winner, Prairieland Dairy LLC of Belleville, Wis.

Sponsors of the 2017 World Forage Analysis Superbowl were led by platinum sponsor Mycogen Seeds. Other sponsors included: Ag-Bag, Agri-King, Agrisure Traits, Barenbrug USA, Blue River Hybrids, Croplan By WinField United, Kemin, Kuhn North America, Nexgrow alfalfa and W-L Research. Additional support is received from the National Hay Association and Passion Ag Inc. as silver sponsors.

Organizing partners for this year’s contest included DairyBusiness Communications, Dairyland Laboratories Inc., Hay & Forage Grower, U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison and World Dairy Expo.

Growers from across the U.S. and Canada were invited to send their best samples in either dairy or commercial divisions. Dairy samples were judged on lab analysis (60%), visual judging (30%) and calculated milk per ton (10%). Commercial entries were judged on lab analysis (70%) and visual judging (30%). Visual judging consists of analysis of the color, texture, maturity and leafiness, depending on the category. Dairyland Laboratories in DePere, Wis., tested the samples.

Here are the five top placings from each category:

Grand Champion Baleage, sponsored by Agri-King
1. Katherine Guither, Walnut, Ill.
2. Brandenburg Hay and Cattle, Monticello, Ill.
3. Kendall Guither, Walnut, Ill.
4. Pounder Bros. Inc., Delavan, Wis.
5. Darin Cox, Merom, Wis.

Grand Champion Commercial Hay, sponsored by Nexgrow alfalfa
1. Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyo.
2. Kamps Alfalfa Farms, Darlington, Wis.
3. Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyo.
4. Kendel Davis, Center, Colo.
5. Rooster Ranch, Casper, Wyo.

Grand Champion Dairy Hay, sponsored by W-L Research
1. Donald and Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wis.
2. S&B Dairy, Sigel, Ill.
3. Harry F. Adams Jr., Byron, Ill.
4. Gene Nehls, Hustiford, Wis.
5. Triple P Farms, Effingham, Ill.

Grand Champion Organic Hay, sponsored by Blue River Hybrids
1. Joseph Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.
2. Opportunity Acres, Lena, Wis.
3. Luisier Lane Farm, Lena, Wis.
4. Wilke R Organic Farm, Sturgeon Bay, Wis.
5. Blue Collar Holsteins, Cuba City, Wis.

Grand Champion Grass Hay, sponsored by Barenbrug USA
1. Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyo.
2. Rosedale Seeds, Oxford, Wis.
3. Cozy Nook Farm, Waukesha, Wis.
4. Pounder Bros Inc., Delavan, Wis.
5. David Blank, Ixonia, Wis.

Grand Champion Haylage, sponsored by Ag-Bag
1. Opportunity Acres, Lena, Wis.
2. Daryl Payne, Sullivan, Wis.
3. Brown Star Farm, Gillett, Wis.
4. Den Mar Acres, Greenleaf, Wis.
5. Twin Cities View Dairy, Manitowoc, Wis.

Grand Champion Standard Corn Silage, sponsored by Agrisure Traits
1. Wojceihowski Bros., Porterfield, Wis.
2. Martin Vanderstappen, Lake Geneva, Wis.
3. Hinsch Farms, Goodhue, Minn.
4. Prairieland Dairy, Belleville, Wis.
5. Linder Farms, Stockholm, Wis.

Grand Champion BMR Corn Silage, sponsored by Mycogen Seeds
1. Baier Creek Farms, Elmwood, Wis.
2. Daystar Dairy, Little Falls, Minn.
3. Chaffee Farms, Barker, N.Y.
4. Co-Vale Holsteins, Preble, N.Y.
5. Tayl-Wind Farm LLC, Cassville, N.Y.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.