Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Farmland group sponsors award for stewardship

Nominations are being accepted for American Farmland Trust's 2007 Steward of the Land Award, a $10,000 prize presented each year to a farmer or rancher who best exemplifies American Farmland Trust's mission of stopping the loss of productive farmland and promoting farming practices that lead to a healthy environment.

Nomination forms can be completed online at, or can be printed out for completion by tradition methods at the same address. You may also call (202) 378-1255 for an application, or with questions.

Nomination materials will be accepted until Dec. 1.

Tom Hutson, a dairy farmer from DeLancey, N.Y. was named the 10th Steward of the Land earlier this year. He operates River Haven Farm in New York's Catskill Mountains, part of the Catskill-Delaware watershed, where reservoirs supply drinking water for millions of New York City residents.

AFT's Steward of the Land Award is also working to raise awareness of the public benefits agriculture provides as discussions about changing farm policies in the 2007 farm bill begin.

“As the 2007 farm bill approaches, it's more important than ever to show examples of people in agriculture working so hard to implement good stewardship practices on their land,” said Grossi. “We need to keep in mind the many things that good farm stewards provide: clean water, open space and wildlife habitat and more, in addition to the food, fiber, fuel and timber products we enjoy every day. AFT can only honor one farmer each year through its Steward of the Land Award, but by supporting incentive-based farm policies that link payments to good stewardship and sound land management, our nation can honor thousands of farmers every year.”

Established in 1997, AFT's Steward of the Land Award recognizes the American farmer or farm family who best demonstrates leadership in protecting farmland and caring for the environment. The award honors the memory of Peggy McGrath Rockefeller, an avid farmer and conservationist who helped found AFT.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.