Missouri Ruralist logo

National Farmers Organization will address latest agriculture industry issues and honor outstanding young producers.

January 6, 2011

2 Min Read

The National Farmers Organization will conduct its "Profit More" 2011 national convention Jan. 17-20 in Kansas City, Mo. The convention headquarters site is the Argosy Hotel Casino and Spa in Riverside.

On the agenda at 2011 NFO convention, you'll find experts discussing topics such as the USDA/Department of Justice meetings about agriculture industry concentration, changes in crop insurance regulations, and animal care guidelines in the dairy industry.

Convention speakers include:

Jan. 18 – Tuesday

11:30 a.m. --Richard Ellinghuysen, pork division VP, Producers Livestock, Omaha, Neb. – The Future of Agriculture

1 p.m. -- Chris Webb – National Farmers Crop Insurance

7 p.m. -- Paul Olson – NFO President's Address Reception & Outstanding Young Producer Awards

Jan. 19 – Wednesday

10:50 a.m. -- Panel Review of USDA/DOJ agricultural concentration meetings: Dr. Max Thornsbury, R-CALF USA; David Senter, board chairman, Kimmitt, Senter, Coates, and Weinfurter; Mark Lauritsen, vice president, United Food and Beverage Workers Union; and Dave Cooper, general manager, Family Dairies

1 p.m. -- Workshops

Dairy - The Dairy Price Stabilization Program, Rob Vandenheuvel, Milk Producers Council

Livestock -- The Packer Side of the Marketing Equation, J.T. Loewe, JBS

Grain – Marketing to Better Your Future, Pete Lorenz, Grain Marketing Plus

2 p.m. -- Workshops

Dairy – Animal Care for Dairy Producers, Joe Bavido, Farmers Assuring Responsible Management

Livestock – Review of Livestock Industry Markets, Max Thornsbury, RCALF

Grain – Chris Webb, National Farmers Crop Insurance/The Assure Group, Crop Insurance Changes for 2011

3:15 p.m. Workshops

Organic Dairy – Jim Wedeberg/Al Haas, Organic Valley

Livestock — Q&A session with marketers

Grain – Tim Ennis, NForganics

Farm Financing – Ag Credit Outlook and National Farmers Loans for Land, Fred Bovee

Thursday, Jan. 20

9:15 a.m. -- Grain Components of the New Farm Bill, David Senter, Board Chairman, Kimmitt, Senter, Coates, and Weinfurter

9:30 a.m. -- Richard Levins, University of Minnesota professor emeritus

10:45 a.m. -- Outstanding Young Producer testimonials



Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like