Sponsored By
Farm Progress

Irmak receives award for microirrigation projectIrmak receives award for microirrigation project

Nebraska Digest: More news comes from Nebraska FSA, Extension and NeCGA.

January 15, 2018

2 Min Read
TOP RESEARCH: Professor Suat Irmak instructs others on the use of microirrigation technology as part of his award-winning research.

Suat Irmak, professor of Biological Systems Engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and a group of scientists from other universities won the USDA National Institute for Food and Agriculture’s National Water and Energy Conservation Award.

The award honors a significant achievement in conserving water and energy through irrigation engineering, equipment, methods and techniques. This year's winner is the NIFA Multistate Project W-3128, “Scaling Microirrigation Technologies to Address the Global Water Challenge.”

The project involved research and Extension professionals from numerous universities, federal laboratories and industry partners. The group made research directors and other professionals aware of the advances in and importance of irrigation technology because it influences so much of the economy and the ability to sustainably manage water resources.

Nebraska FSA state committee appointees named

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue recently announced a slate of Farm Service Agency state committee appointees. State committees are selected by the secretary and are responsible for carrying out FSA's farm programs within delegated authorities.

In Nebraska, this includes Committee Chair Scott Spilker of Beatrice; Cindi Allen of Ogallala; Mark Jagels of Davenport; Hilary Maricle of Boone County; and Geoff Ruth of Rising City.

McClure joins Extension as analytics educator

The new Extension educator for farm and ranch management analytics is Nebraska native Glennis McClure. She joined the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Department of Agricultural Economics in late November, filling a position previously held by Roger Wilson, who retired in 2016.

With a 100% appointment in Nebraska Extension, her responsibilities will be to further develop an Extension program in farm and ranch management analytics, including publishing all livestock and crop enterprise budgets, surveying and publishing the Farm Custom Rates Guide, and assisting with special economic analyses as requested.

A UNL alumna, McClure has extensive background as a farm business partner on a grain and livestock farm in Gage County and as a farm business consultant and agricultural educator in southeast Nebraska.

Nebraska Corn Growers Association elects officers

During their recently held meeting, members of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association elected 2018 officers. Elected to a second term as president was Dan Wesely, a farmer from Morse Bluff. Other officers elected include Dan Nerud of Dorchester, vice president; Andy Jobman of Gothenburg, secretary; and Tom Nathan of Meadow Grove, treasurer. Chuck Emanuel, of North Bend, stepped down as treasurer after serving the board for many years. While technically retired from the state board, Emanuel will continue to serve his local association, the Colfax-Dodge County Corn Growers.

NeCGA also elected two at-large members to serve for three years on the board. Lynn Chrisp, of Hastings, was re-elected, and Dave Warner, of Albion, was elected for his first term.


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like