Prairie Farmer Logo

The Illinois Beef Association awarded numerous honors at the Illinois Beef Expo in Springfield.

March 4, 2015

3 Min Read

Numerous individuals were recognized at the Illinois Beef Expo last week in Springfield. Here is a list of the awards handed out by the Illinois Beef Association.

Grand Champion Steer
Ten breed champions vied for the Grand Champion Market Animal title. Olivia Caldwell of Elmwood led her Champion Crossbred Steer to the banner. A total of 204 head were exhibited in the junior steer show.


Judge Blake Bloomberg of Stillwater, Okla., selected the Champion Maine Anjou Steer shown by Dalton Line of Seaton as Reserve Grand Champion Steer. Third Overall Steer was the Champion Simmental Steer shown by Abby Kuppler of Hinckley. AJ Line of Seaton exhibited the Fourth Overall Steer, which was first named Reserve Champion Crossbred Steer. Fifth Overall Steer was the Champion Chianina Steer shown by Cole Whisman of Illinois City.

Also competing for the Grand Champion Steer title was the Champion Shorthorn Steer led by Brian Clapp of LeRoy, the Champion Shorthorn Plus Steer exhibited by Riley Bradshaw of New Salem, the Champion AOB Steer shown by Luke Jungmann of Seaton, the Champion Angus Steer exhibited by Adam Miller of Gridley, the Champion Hereford Steer led by Gracia Ramp of Yates City, and the Champion Market Heifer exhibited by Austin Rincker of Strasburg.

Thanks to long-time Illinois Beef Expo sponsors M.H. Eby and Stephens Trailer Sales of Taylorville, all breed champions in the Illinois Beef Expo Junior Steer Show were awarded additional premium monies. Sullivan Supply and The Showtimes junior livestock magazine were also junior show sponsors.

Spirit Award winners
Five junior showmen were recognized as the Spirit Award winners. The award showcases juniors exhibiting good sportsmanship, herdsmanship, and a strong work ethic. A selection committee took note of juniors throughout the weekend displaying those characteristics and awarded Clayton Poppe of Jerseyville, Maggie Kelly of Strausburg, Carter Hoge of Good Hope, Paige Lemenager of Hudson, and Brian Clapp of LeRoy.

"Some of the greatest lessons learned by exhibiting livestock are not learned in the show ring, but in the barn the weeks and months prior to the show," says Illinois Beef Expo junior show coordinator, Julie Blunier. "We wanted to recognize youth who are working hard, showing respect to others, and displaying a strong spirit to succeed."

The five exhibitors won a $100 gift certificate to Sullivan Supply. Champion Show Stock was recognized as a sponsor of the award program.

IBA Points Show Program winners
Junior showmen were recognized as the 2014 Illinois Beef Association Points Show Program winners. The IBA Points Show Program awards youth for success in the show ring at sanctioned cattle shows throughout the state. Brady Schnelten of Rockbridge was named the 2014 Overall IBA Points Show Program winner and won the use of a trailer for one-year which was sponsored by Jim Shiels, owner of Gateway Featherlite Trailer Sales in Pana.

The Top Ten Heifer Points Show Program winners were Brady Schnelten of Rockbridge, Haley Haverback of Atkinson, Kagney Collins of Flanagan, Alec Myers of Taylorville, Tyler Verbeck of Cambridge, Sara Pieper of Stewardson, Derek Humphrey of Dixon, Clayton Poppe of Jerseyville, Melinda Braun of Columbia, and Ty Drach of Pontiac.

The Top Ten Steer Points Show Program winners were Dylan Torrey of Jerseyville, Riley Johnson of Lee, Brianna Ulmer of Greenville, Jordan Breedlove of Manito, Hannah Winters of Algonquin, Nelson England of Oneida, Abby Tomhave of Jacksonville, Kinsey Knauth of Watseka, Levi Hinshaw of Secor, Danielle Engel of Marengo, and Ted Heitzig of Jerseyville.

Source: Illinois Beef Association

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like