Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States
Sen. Pat Roberts at an ag committee hearing. Chip Somodevilla/GettyImages
Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kansas, delivers remarks during a hearing in Washington, D.C.

Roberts continues to chair Senate Ag Committee

Members of committee also announced.

Kansas Sen. Pat Roberts will retain his gavel as he leads the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, during his last two years in office.

Related: Pat Roberts will not seek re-election

“I am honored to be chosen to lead the Agriculture Committee for another two years,” said Chairman Roberts, R-Kansas. “We just succeeded in passing the bipartisan, bicameral 2018 Farm Bill, and I look forward to overseeing the Agriculture Department’s implementation.

“As I said when I first became Chairman of this Committee in 2015, my first priority is the American farmer and rancher. That laser focus has not changed one bit. We will continue to hold hearings, consider legislation in a fair and transparent manner, and consider nominations.”

“I’m pleased that Senator Stabenow will also continue her important role in the Agriculture Committee as Ranking Member. Working with Senator Stabenow on past Farm Bills, and various legislation in between, we have proven that we are the least partisan Committee, reaching across the aisle where we can to deliver results for rural America.”

Republican members of the Senate Agriculture Committee include:

  1. Mitch McConnell, Kentucky
  2. John Boozman, Arkansas
  3. John Hoeven, North Dakota
  4. Joni Ernst, Iowa
  5. Cindy Hyde-Smith, Mississippi
  6. Mike Braun, Indiana
  7. David Perdue, Georgia
  8. Chuck Grassley, Iowa
  9. John Thune, South Dakota
  10. Deb Fischer, Nebraska

Democratic members of the Senate Agriculture Committee include:

  1. Debbie Stabenow, Michigan, ranking member
  2. Patrick Leahy, Vermont
  3. Sherrod Brown, Ohio
  4. Amy Klobuchar, Minnesota
  5. Michael Bennet, Colorado
  6. Kirsten Gillibrand, New York
  7. Joe Donnelly, Indiana
  8. Heidi Heitkamp, North Dakota
  9. Robert P. Casey, Jr., Pennsylvania
  10. Tina Smith, Minnesota

Roberts is the only Member of Congress to hold the titles of both Senate and House Agriculture Committee Chairman and Ranking Member.

During 2011-2013, Senator Roberts served as the Ranking Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee. In 2012, with then Chairwoman Stabenow, Roberts passed a Farm Bill through the Committee, which was later approved by the full Senate.

During 2014-2016, Senator Roberts served as Chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee. During 2017-2018, Chairman Roberts authored his second farm bill. He shepherded the Farm Bill through the Senate with the most votes ever received by a single farm bill, and it was signed into law on Dec. 20, 2018.

Source: Senate Ag Committee, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.