Farm Progress

Nebraska Digest: Farm Bureau awards ag teacher and FFA advisor; UNL faculty named ASPB fellows.

April 21, 2017

2 Min Read
AG CHAMPIONS: Kurtis Harms, director of communications with the Nebraska Corn Board, presents Heidi Borg, Miranda Hornung, Aubyrne McClintock, Isabelle Stewart and Rebekah Vote with Ag Champions honors. Not pictured is Amanda Most.

2017 Ag Champions winners announced
The Nebraska Corn Board, in partnership with Nebraska FFA, recently recognized six high school FFA students as Ag Champions at the 2017 State FFA Convention in Lincoln. The purpose of the Ag Champions program is to help FFA students find their voices to help advocate for agriculture. This year's Ag Champions award winners are  Heidi Borg, senior at Wakefield Community High School; Miranda Hornung, junior at Raymond Central High; Aubyrne McClintock, freshman at Wallace High; Amanda Most, junior at Ogallala High; Isabelle Stewart, senior at Lakeview High; Rebekah Vote, freshman at Wallace High. The six winners each receive $500 scholarships to further their agricultural advocacy efforts through FFA.

Ag Teacher and FFA Adviser of the Year awarded to two Nebraska Teachers
The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation selected two recipients for the Agriculture Teacher and FFA Advisor of the Year award. Jesse Bower, FFA Advisor at Sutton Public Schools in Sutton, and Amy Tomlinson, FFA Advisor from Sandy Creek Public Schools in Fairfield were honored at the Nebraska FFA Convention in April in Lincoln. The winning advisers received a plaque and $1,000 donation to their FFA chapters. The teachers were nominated by their own students and chosen based upon their school and community involvement, leadership development in their classroom, and their ability to keep their students involved in agriculture.

UNL faculty named fellows of the American Society of Plant Biologists
Ed Cahoon, George Holmes professor of biochemistry and director of the Center for Plant Science Innovation at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and Daniel Schachtman, professor of agronomy and horticulture and director of the Center for Biotechnology at UNL, have been named fellows of the American Society of Plant Biologists. Established in 2007, the award is granted in recognition of distinguished and long-term contributions to plant biology and service to the ASPB by current members in areas that include research, education, mentoring, outreach, and professional and public service. Cahoon and Schachtman will receive a certificate of distinction and a lapel pin at the annual plant biology meeting at Plant Biology 2017, which will be held in June in Honolulu.

Nebraska Cattlewomen announce 2017 Beef Ambassador Contest results
The Nebraska Cattlewomen recently announced the results of the 2017 Nebraska Beef Ambassador Contest held in Lincoln in April. Hannah Esch of Unadilla took home first place in the collegiate division along with a $200 cash prize. A scholarship from the Nebraska Cattlemen Research and Education Foundation will be awarded at the completion of her year as Beef Ambassador. She will be competing at National Beef Ambassador Competition in 2018. Senior contestant TaraLee Hudson of Belevidere received first place and a cash prize of $125. A custom belt buckle will be awarded to both winners at the Nebraska State Fair, where both division winners will be greeting visitors at the popular Birthing Pavilion.


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like