Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Wisconsin FFA Foundation awards $28,950 in SAE grants

istock/thinkstock grant funding
GRANT CATEGORIES: The Wisconsin FFA Foundation awarded 2016-17 SAE grants in five categories: aquaculture, dairy, livestock, organic agriculture and startup.
Thirty-seven FFA members receive gifts from generous sponsors this holiday season.

A total of 37 Wisconsin FFA members from 27 different chapters have been awarded $28,950 in Supervised Agricultural Experience grants from the Wisconsin FFA Foundation.

The Wisconsin FFA Foundation awarded the 2016-17 SAE grants in five categories: aquaculture, dairy, livestock, organic agriculture and startup. Successful candidates were chosen based on the level and scope of their SAE in accordance with their age, future goals and plans for the program, as well as financial need. 

Through the SAE program, students are able to create their own business or build career skills through an existing operation. They apply concepts learned in the classroom to real-world challenges and work experiences, learning valuable lessons from the outcomes. The program is one component of the agricultural education opportunities available to students throughout Wisconsin.  

To apply for a Wisconsin FFA Foundation SAE grant, students must complete a five-page application explaining their SAE program, how much funding they are in need of, the expected use of those funds, and future goals for their SAE, as well as for FFA and other school activities. Their FFA advisor also must submit a statement about their involvement in the organization and the student's vision with their SAE. 

“It’s always an added joy to announce Wisconsin FFA Foundation Supervised Agricultural Experience grant winners at this holiday time of year," says Jen Bradley, interim executive director of the Wisconsin FFA Foundation. “We are so proud of the work Wisconsin FFA members are accomplishing and the innovative ideas they present to us for their SAE projects. Our generous donors make this all possible, and for them, we are continually thankful.” 

Program sponsors and grant recipients are as follows:

Aquaculture SAE grants were sponsored by the Wisconsin Aquaculture Association. Two $300 grants were awarded to John Birr of Oconto Falls FFA and Alexander William Orr of Waupaca.   

Dairy SAE grants were sponsored by the Dairy Business Association, Dairy Business Milk Marketing Cooperative, Foremost Farms USA, Nasco, Saputo Cheese USA Inc., We Energies and the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board. Grants in the amount of $1,000 were awarded to: Nicole Broege, Janesville Craig FFA; Jared Baudhuin, Southern Door; Garett Borth, Ellsworth; Abby Frisk, New Lisbon; Hailey Hendrickson, Randolph Cambria-Friesland; Emily Pankratz, Auburndale; Anne Runde, Janesville Craig; Marcus Schroepfer, Antigo; Morgan Seitz, Seymour; Devon Weiland, Colby; and Randy Winch, Fennimore. Brynn Emery and Kenzie Emery, both from the Palmyra-Eagle FFA, were awarded $675 grants, while Allison Jo Bragger, Independence, and Noah Ley Heine, Jefferson, both received a $500 dairy SAE grant.

In the new category, $700 livestock SAE grants were awarded to: Sarah Snortheim, Auburndale; Lindsey Augustine, Ellsworth; Adam Zee, Marshfield; Kittrick Singerhouse, Menomonie; and Cassie Lawrence, Shell Lake. A $500 livestock grant was awarded to Winston Petkoff, Clinton. Equity Cooperative Livestock Sales Association is the sponsor of the livestock SAE grants. 

Organic agriculture SAE grants are sponsored by Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative Inc. and Viroqua Food Co-op. Two $1,000 grants were awarded to Jacob Schreiber of the Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA and Zach Sirianni of Whitehall FFA.   

Startup grants were provided by BlueScope Buildings, Sartori Co. and ST Paper LLC. Startup grants in the amount of $1,000 were awarded to: Kendra Goplin, Whitehall; Denise Olson, Cambridge; Cameron Pokorny, Waupun; Rhiannon Reimer, Granton; and Sarah Zuelke, Stratford. A $900 startup grant was awarded to Jamie Chulafich, Fennimore; an $800 grant to Raye Schmalstig, Ellsworth; a $700 grant to Connor Cook, Glenwood City; two $500 grants to Madelyn Rankin, Clinton, and Michael Schmitt, Thorp, a $400 grant to Christopher Moskal, Clayton; and a $200 grant to Tristan Wirkus, Stratford.  

Source: Wisconsin FFA Foundation

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.