Prairie Farmer Logo

Enter your farm dog in the 2023 Prairie Farmer Favorite Farm Dog Contest.

Betty Haynes

January 19, 2023

1 Min Read
Bahia, a 5-year-old Australian cattle dog
BAHIA: Bahia, a 5-year-old Australian cattle dog from Ashton, Ill., was the winner of the 2022 Prairie Farmer Favorite Farm Dog Contest. Farm Progress

Behind many farmers is a furry four-legged companion greeting them each day with a smile and wagging tail. And one of our favorite parts of visiting your farm is meeting your beloved farm dog.

That’s why we started the Prairie Farmer Favorite Farm Dog Contest in 2000 and have continued to celebrate winning dogs ever since — like Bahia in 2022, Ace in 2021, Bailey in 2020, Stella in 2019 and Roxie in 2018. So, for 2023, send us your farm dogs!

Entries for the 2023 Prairie Farmer Favorite Farm Dog Contest are now open. To enter, send the following to [email protected]:

  • the best photo of your farm dog

  • 150 words or less about your faithful companion

  • your name, address and phone number

  • your dog’s name, age and breed

Owners of the winning dog will receive:

  • a photo shoot with Prairie Farmer of their dog on the farm in action

  • a feature story in the June issue of Prairie Farmer

  • a 16-by-20-inch Modern Metals wall art of their favorite farm dog photo

  • a cash prize: $100 for first place; $75 for second place; and $50 for third place

Winners will be selected through a combination of online voting and editorial voting, based on the dog’s utility, companionship, work ethic and value as a family member. Entries will close March 20 at 8 a.m.

About the Author(s)

Betty Haynes

Betty Haynes is the associate editor of Prairie Farmer. She grew up on a Menard County, Ill., farm and graduated from the University of Missouri. Most recently, Betty worked for the Illinois Beef Association, entirely managing and editing its publication.

She and her husband, Dan, raise corn, soybeans and cattle with her family near Oakford , Ill., and are parents to Clare.

Betty won the 2023 Andy Markwart Horizon Award, 2022 Emerging Writer, and received Master Writer designation from the Ag Communicators Network. She was also selected as a 2023 Young Leader by the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like