Sponsored By
Farm Progress

South Dakota Corn recognizes Boadwine, ForgeySouth Dakota Corn recognizes Boadwine, Forgey

Farmers were recognized for their success, innovation and advocacy.

February 1, 2017

2 Min Read
CORN AWARDS: The South Dakota Corn Growers recently recognized farmers and others for their contributions to agriculture.stockfotoart/Thinkstock

Lynn Boadwine, Baltic, and Dan Forgey, Gettysburg, were recently recognized by the South Dakota Corn Growers Association.

Boadwine, a dairy producer, received the SDCGA’s Most Valuable Player in Agriculture Award. The group recognized him as a promoter of animal agriculture and a great ambassador for agriculture in general.

“His farm is a shining example of how to do things the right way. He cares how consumers feel about agricultural products and practices, and has hosted open houses at his dairies. There, thousands of consumers have gotten an inside look at how their milk is produced and how Boadwine’s cows are treated,” SDCGA said in an announcement.

Forgey, who manages a diversified beef cattle and grain operation, received the Excellence in Agriculture Award. “No one sets a better example than Dan Forgey does of doing things the right way,” SDGA said in its announcement. “As farm manager of Cronin Farms, Forgey has been at the forefront of no-till farming practices. He’s also a pioneer in the cover crop and soil health movements. Constantly looking for ways to improve soil and yields, Forgey conducts research, testing and field trials. He shares his expertise and experiences at conferences not only in South Dakota, but also in other states and Canada.”

State Rep. Lee Qualm received SDGA’s Outstanding Legislative Leadership Award. First elected to the Legislature in 2012, Qualm is serving a third term in the House and was elected majority leader. He has served on various committees, including the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.

Jim Burg, Justin Davis and Brian Renelt — all farmers who are finishing terms on the SDCGA or South Dakota Corn Utilization Council boards — received Outstanding Service awards.

Lisa Richardson, who has been executive director of the SDCGA and SDCUC for 20 years, received the Staff Dedication Award.

Source: SD Corn

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like