is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Nominations open for World Food Prize award

Nominations will be accepted through May 1, 2019.

Nominations are now being accepted for the World Food Prize Laureate award.

The globally renowned award recognizes the accomplishments of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. Nominations of worthy candidates are invited from public and private organizations, academic institutions, governmental organizations, and businesses. The nomination criteria, procedure, and online form are available at Nominations will be accepted through May 1, 2019.

The 2018 World Food Prize Laureates were Drs. Lawrence Haddad and David Nabarro, who were honored with the Prize for their individual and complementary global leadership in elevating maternal and child undernutrition to a central issue within the food security and development dialogue at national and international levels. Past Laureates include President Akinwumi Adesina of the African Development Bank, BRAC Founder Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, United States Senators George McGovern and Robert Dole, former President of Ghana John Kufuor, and former director of the U.N. World Food Programme Catherine Bertini.

The World Food Prize was created in 1986 to be the highest individual honor for truly exceptional and unique achievements in improving the quality, quantity, and availability of the world’s food supply, as well as the access of all human beings to it. This prestigious $250,000 award has been presented to 48 outstanding individuals from 18 countries. In issuing this annual invitation to nominate, World Food Prize President Ambassador Kenneth Quinn affirmed that: “It is imperative that those individuals whose work has truly made a difference in the lives and well-being of large numbers of people are considered for this award.”

Inquiries may be directed to Ellen Franzenburg, Director of Secretariat Operations at the World Food Prize, by email at

Source: World Food Prize 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.